Research Cooperation

Interdisciplinary cooperation is a key feature of research at the University of Bremen. Inside the University, interdisciplinary research exists primarily across faculties within the high-profile areas. In addition, University researchers cooperate in numerous projects with top-level non-university research institutes on the campus and in the Land of Bremen. Collaboration is organized through formal cooperation agreements. On the basis of these agreements it has been possible to establish a large number of intensive cooperation projects and collaborations between the outstanding researchers at the University of Bremen and at the excellent non-university research institutions. For instance, the non-university research institutions hold joint professorships at the University and conduct collaborative research with their University colleagues in a Cluster of Excellence and DFG Collaborative Research Centres. These professors also supervise master and doctoral theses autonomously.

Since 2007 alone, it was possible to double the number of research institutions located in Bremen (from four to eight) belonging to Max-Planck, Helmholtz, Leibniz and Fraunhofer societies. Another new arrival is the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence. The Institute for Epidemiology and Prevention Research is now an associated member of the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Association. These research institutions are financed mainly from federal funds. Further eleven top-level research institutions are funded by the Land of Bremen and, last not least, there is the Research Center for Eastern European Studies, which is funded by the Land of Bremen and the Standing Conference of Länder Ministers of Education.

The Institutional Strategy “Ambitious and agile” of the Excellence Initiative in 2012 anchors the high-profile areas in international and national top-level research. The Strategy’s measures M1 (New Governance), M2 (Bridge Professorships) and M3 (Cooperative Junior Research Groups) strengthen the cooperation with non-university research institutions and other neighboring universities. 

Academic cooperation partners on the basis of contractual agreements:

  • Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research (AWI) Link
  • Bremen Institute of Applied Beam Technology (BIAS) Link
  • Bremer Institute of Production and Logistics (BIBA)* Link
  • Deutsches Schiffahrtsmuseum (DSM) – Forschungsmuseum der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft
  • Faserinstitut Bremen* (FIBRE) Link
  • Fraunhofer Institute for Manufacturing Technology and Advanced Materials (IFAM) Link
  • Fraunhofer Institute for Wind Energy and Energy System Technology (IWES) Link
  • Fraunhofer Institute for Medical Image Computing (MEVIS) Link
  • German Aerospace Center (DLR Bremen) Link
  • German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence* (DFKI-Laboratory Bremen) Link
  • Institute for Applied Systems Technology Bremen (ATB) Link
  • Institute for Information Management* (IFIB) Link
  • Institute for Maritime Resources (IMARE) Link
  • Institute of Materials Science (IWT) Link
  • Institute of Shipping Economics and Logistics (ISL) Link
  • Leibniz Center for Tropical Marine Ecology (ZMT) Link
  • Leibniz Institute for Epidemiology and Prevention Research (BIPS) Link
  • Max Planck Institute for Marine Microbiology Link
  • Research Center for East European Studies* Link
  • ZARM drop tower operation and service company (ZARM) Link

* “Institute at the University of Bremen” as defined by § 96 BremHG

The University of Bremen also has a tradition of collaboration with other universities in North West Germany. The University of Bremen and the University of Oldenburg for instance cooperate are cooperating since a long time in joint DFG Collaborative Research Centers ? their long-standing cooperation is fixed in a comprehensive cooperation agreement between the universities. Lately, the center for transnational studies (ZenTra) interdisciplinary and collaborative initiative joining researchers from the Universities of Bremen and Oldenburg has been opened in October 2012. Since its foundation, the Jacobs University and the University of Bremen are collaborating on two Master Programs as well as on the doctoral program offered by the jointly run BIGSSS Graduate School of excellence, in which the University of Oldenburg is also involved.

In the fields of marine research, computer science, wind energy and the social sciences, common platforms provide sound foundations for joint research to mutual advantage. Intensified collaboration with neighboring universities ? Jacobs University Bremen, the University of Oldenburg, and other universities farther afield like Hamburg and Groningen ? also contributes toward strengthening those disciplines which alone would lack the necessary critical mass.

The most long-standing success story in the area of regional cooperation is the Hanse-Wissenschaftskolleg, a foundation set up in 1997 by the federal states of Lower Saxony and Bremen. The international fellows researching at this "Institute for Advanced Studies" make a major contribution to worldwide academic networking. Link

Moreover, in 2009 the University of Bremen, the University of Oldenburg, Jacobs University Bremen and the Hanse Wissenschaftskolleg joined together to set up the NOWETAS Foundation. With generous support afforded by partners in the region, NOWETAS funds cooperation projects in areas of high potential. It also contributes to the sustainable implementation of projects by fostering common development planning.