Tributes by other universities


  • Dr. Carina Schmitt from the Center for Social Policy was granted a scholarship from Harvard University worht 60,000 US dollars. The John F. Kennedy Memorial Fellowship 2013/2014 will enable her to spend ten months researching at the Minda de Gunzburg Center for European Studies in Harvard.


  • Professor Ekkard Brinksmeier worldwide leading expert in the area of ultra precision techniques was honored in recognition of outstanding research achievement in this field: The Rhine-Westphalian Technical College in Aachen (RWTH) awarded him an honorary doctorate.

  • Renowned deep-sea resercher Prof. Antje Boetius was awarded the accolade Heinrich-Hertz Visiting Professor 2012 by the Karlsruher Universitätsgesellschaft (KUG) and the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT).


  • The Belgorod State University in Russia has honored Professor Klaus Bönkost with the title of Honorary Professor, in appreciation of his work in forging cooperation between the two universities.

  • Adolf Brock has been awarded an Honorary Doctorate of the University of Hamburg, for the consistency and persistence with which he strove to combine theroy and practice.