Teaching and Studies

Planning the quality of teaching and studies

Within the context of the Bologna Process, the University of Bremen was quick to implement a two-cycle structure of studies. This has necessitated the introduction of stronger measures of quality assurance in respect of teaching and programs of study. Here, the University is able to draw on its long years of experience of cross-university evaluation procedures in the Consortium of Universities in Northern Germany. For example, since 1995 the consortium members have had all the “major” disciplines externally evaluated in a step-by-step process and entered into target agreements on corresponding quality developments.

The University of Bremen is committed to a continual process of improvement and development of the quality of teaching and studies. The primary objective is to offer its students a high level of career-oriented studies that can be completed within an expedient time. All this calls for study programs that are well organized and accordant counseling and support for students as well as for the teaching staff.

Teaching Profile

Ever since it was founded, the University of Bremen has maintained close links between its research and teaching activities. A good example is its approach to studying in projects (“Bremen Model“), which fosters elements of independent research-based learning oriented to societal issues. Today, this is underscored in a number of study elements, the strong orientation to interdisciplinary studies, and the University’s guiding principles. Various surveys, measures, and discussion processes illustrate and confirm that both teaching staff as well as students share a high level of willingness to participate in research-based learning: implementation is facilitated by this culture of internal consensus. Especially characteristic for its teaching profile is the University’s focus on research-based learning at an early stage of studies, the anchoring of a comprehensive program of General Studies in the curriculum, and the supportive integration of e-learning components

Quality assurance and quality management

The University of Bremen’s overriding guiding principle is to achieve a high quality of teaching and research. In pursuit of this goal, the Faculties, the Rector’s Office, the Department for Academic Affairs, and the Academic Council have formulated shared requirements in the form of quality guidelines and recommendations pertaining to the structure of degree programs, the development of key qualifications, and compatibility between studies and family. Over and above this, the University of Bremen makes use of a number of integrated instruments of quality assurance that lead to a culture of quality in teaching.

The system of quality management in teaching and study programs at the University of Bremen is decentralized and participatory. It applies to all members of the University according to their functions. The disciplines and the University management ensure a comprehensive flow of information and have established possibilities for all groups within the University to participate. ...

Structure of studies

In 2001 the University of Bremen committed to the swift introduction of Bachelor‘s and Master’s degree courses as required by the Bologna Process. Since then, this system has been introduced in all of its degree courses. This reform of the structure of studies has gone hand in hand with reforms of program content, the design of lecture courses and their delivery, and clearly structured syllabi....

Lehre und Studium

Planung von Lehr- und Studienqualität

Die Universität Bremen hat im Zuge des Bologna-Prozesses sehr frühzeitig mit der Umsetzung einer gestuften Studienstruktur begonnen. Damit einher gingen verstärkte Maßnahmen zur Qualitätssicherung von Lehre und Studium, bei denen die Universität auf langjährige Erfahrungen aus den hochschulübergreifenden Evaluationsverfahren im Verbund Norddeutscher Universitäten zurückgreifen konnte. Im Verbund wurden beispielsweise seit 1995 alle „großen“ Fächer gemeinsam in einem mehrstufigen Verfahren extern evaluiert und entsprechende Qualitätsentwicklungen in Zielvereinbarungen vereinbart.

Die Universität Bremen ist bestrebt, die Qualität von Lehre und Studium einem kontinuierlichen Verbesserungs- und Weiterentwicklungsprozess zu unterziehen. Hauptziel ist dabei, den Studierenden ein erfolgreiches, zügiges und Arbeitsmarkt orientiertes Studium anzubieten. Eine gute Studienorganisation, angemessene Beratung und Unterstützung sowohl der Studierenden als auch der Lehrenden sind dabei unerlässlich.

Lehrprofil

Die Universität Bremen steht seit ihrer Gründung für den Anspruch auf eine enge Verknüpfung von Forschung und Lehre. Mit dem Projektstudium („Bremer Modell“) wurde bereits frühzeitig selbstständiges Lernen an gesellschaftlich relevanten Fragestellungen in die Lehre integriert. Die Einbeziehung von Studierenden in Forschungsprozesse wurde zunehmend erweitert, indem Studierende heute z.T. bereits im Bachelorstudium erste Forschungserfahrungen machen. Forschendes Studieren/Forschendes Lernen von Beginn an wird an der Universität Bremen in allen Fachdisziplinen gefördert. Die ausgeprägten Erfahrungen in der interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit verstärken die forschungsorientierte Ausrichtung der Lehre an der Universität Bremen die interne Konsenskultur befördert die Umsetzung. Prägend für das Lehrprofil der Universität Bremen sind damit der Fokus auf ein forschendes Studieren von Beginn an, die curriculare Verankerung eines umfangreichen General Studies Anteils sowie die unterstützende Einbindung von eLearning Anteilen in die Lehrangebote. ...

Qualitätssicherung und Qualitätsmanagement

Oberstes Leitziel der Universität Bremen ist hohe Qualität der Lehre und Forschung. Im Zusammenspiel zwischen Fächern, Rektorat, dem Dezernat Akademische Angelegenheiten und dem Akademischen Senat wurden deshalb gemeinsam Anforderungen in Form von Qualitätsrichtlinien und -empfehlungen formuliert, die sich bspw. mit der Studienstruktur, der Vermittlung von Schlüsselqualifikationen und der Vereinbarkeit von Studium und Familie auseinandersetzen. Die Universität Bremen verfügt darüber hinaus über interne wie externe Qualitätssicherungsinstrumente, die miteinander vernetzt sind und zu einer Qualitätskultur in der Lehre beitragen.

Die Universität Bremen ist systemakkreditiert. Das Qualitätsmanagement in Lehre und Studium ist dabei dezentral organisiert und beteiligungsorientiert. Es bindet dabei alle Hochschulangehörigen funktionsabhängig ein. Fachbereiche und Hochschulleitung gewährleisten hierfür in ihren jeweiligen Bereichen Freiräume für die Beteiligung aller Hochschulgruppen sowie einen umfassenden Informationsfluss. ...

Studienstrukturplanung

Die schnelle Einrichtung gestufter Abschlüsse in allen Bereichen der Universitätsausbildung im Rahmen des Bologna Prozesses war das erklärte Ziel der Universität im Jahre 2001. Seit dieser Zeit sind nun alle Studiengänge auf das neue zweistufige System umgestellt. Mit der Strukturreform sind Reformen der Studieninhalte, der Lehrveranstaltungsformen und ihrer Didaktik und klare Strukturierungen der Studienpläne Hand in Hand gegangen....