Skip to content

Faculty 08

Welcome to the Faculty of Social Sciences

The Faculty of Social Sciences is home to the disciplines of history, geography, integrated European studies, sociology, and political science and offers a broad range of bachelor and masters programmes. With the "Bremen International Graduate School of Social Sciences" (BIGSSS), a joint institution with the private Jacobs University, the faculty was a forerunner in structured PhD education. BIGSSS could assure funds twice from the German excellence initiative

Our research takes place in different institutes, such as the “Research Centre for International Relations, European Politics, and Political Theory” (InIIS), the “Sustainability Research Centre” (artec), the “SOCIUM Research Center on Inequality and Social Policy” (formerly "Centre for Social Policy Research" (ZeS) and the "Institute for Empirical and Applied Sociology" (EMPAS)) as well as the external “Research Centre for East European Studies” (FSO). Since 2018 the German Research Foundation (DFG) funds the Collaborative Research Centre 1342 “Global Dynamics of Social Policy”, in which researchers from all our disciplines collaborate. Our research focuses on important environmental, social and political topics.

Good research and good teaching go hand in hand. The University of Bremen's approach of encouraging research-based learning is a matter of course in our Faculty as it establishes links to the realities of everyday life. Our teaching faculty is engaged in international and interdisciplinary joint research and combine specialist expertise with intercultural skills in their teaching. We value an open and communicative discourse in research, the development of young researchers, and our study programmes. For us, education encompasses the active development of intellectual and social competencies. Our alumni's diverse and successful career paths are a testament to the approach of Faculty 08 at the University of Bremen.

I invite you to get to know our Faculty! The variety of our German and English-language degree programmes, our cooperation with regional and international research institutions, the wide range of our research and our contacts in diverse professional fields are sure to impress.

The Dean

Prof. Dr. Susanne K. Schmidt

Aktuelles

No news available.

Zum Inhalt springen

Fachbereich 08

Willkommen am Fachbereich Sozialwissenschaften

Der Fachbereich Sozialwissenschaften umfasst die Fächer Geschichte, Geographie, Integrierte Europastudien, Soziologie und Politikwissenschaft mit einem vielfältigen Angebot an Bachelor- und Masterprogrammen. Mit der „Bremen International Graduate School of Social Sciences“ (BIGSSS), einer gemeinsamen Einrichtung mit der privaten Jacobs University, hat der Fachbereich frühzeitig neue Wege in der strukturierten Graduiertenausbildung beschritten, die zweimal von der Exzellenzinitiative gefördert wurden.

Unsere Forschung findet an verschiedenen Einrichtungen statt, so dem "Institut für Interkulturelle und Internationale Beziehungen" (InIIS), dem "Forschungszentrum Nachhaltigkeit" (artec), dem "SOCIUM Forschungszentrum Ungleichheit und Sozialpolitik"(ehemals "Zentrum für Sozialpolitik" (ZeS) und "Institut für empirische und angewandte Soziologie" (EMPAS) sowie der außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtung „Forschungsstelle Osteuropa“ (FSO). Seit 2018 fördert die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft den Sonderforschungsbereich 1342 „Globale Entwicklungsdynamiken von Sozialpolitik“, an dem alle Fächer unseres Fachbereichs beteiligt sind. Unsere Forschenden setzen sich mit relevanten Fragestellungen aus Umwelt, Gesellschaft und Politik auseinander.

Gute Forschung und gute Lehre gehen für uns Hand in Hand. Forschendes Lernen als Markenzeichen der Universität Bremen wird an unserem Fachbereich groß geschrieben und stellt Bezüge zur aktuellen Lebenswirklichkeit her. Unsere Lehrenden beteiligen sich an internationaler und interdisziplinärer Verbundforschung und bringen fachliches Wissen ebenso wie interkulturelle Kompetenz in die Lehre ein. Wir schätzen in der Forschung, der Nachwuchsförderung und im Studium den offenen und kommunikativen Austausch und verstehen Bildung als aktive Entwicklung intellektueller wie sozialer Kompetenzen. Die vielseitigen und erfolgreichen Berufswege unserer Absolventinnen und Absolventen bestätigen diesen Weg des Fachbereichs 08 an der Universität Bremen.

Ich lade Sie ein, unseren Fachbereich kennenzulernen! Lassen Sie sich von den vielfältigen deutsch- und englischsprachigen Studienprogrammen, unseren Kooperationen mit regionalen und internationalen Forschungsinstitutionen, der großen Bandbreite unserer Forschungsarbeiten sowie den Kontakten in die Praxis überzeugen.

Die Dekanin
Prof. Dr. Susanne K. Schmidt

Aktuelles

Keine Nachrichten verfügbar.
Aktualisiert von: Yannik Meier