Skip to main content

Award for Outstanding Doctoral Supervision

Honoring exemplary empowerment of early-career scholars

The award for outstanding doctoral supervision is given to university professors for their professional and encouraging support of doctoral candidates. It is worth 4000 Euros. The award honors both the demanding task of doctoral supervision and exemplary empowerment of early-career scholars. A further objective of the award is to promote a high standard of doctoral supervision as per the position paper “Qualitätssicherung der Promotion an der Universität Bremen” (‘Quality assurance in doctoral studies at the University of Bremen’) from May 2015.

The jury bestows the award and prize money of 2000 Euro each upon two supervisors, one from the arts and social sciences and one from the natural sciences and engineering. The prize money is sponsored by Alumni der Universität Bremen e.V and awarded for the specific purpose of facilitating the success of doctoral candidates.


Who can submit nominations?

Nominations can be submitted by early-career researchers who were awarded their doctorate in the last four years (date of defense).


Who can be nominated?

All employees of the University of Bremen who function as doctoral supervisors in accordance with the respective doctoral regulations (‘Promotionsordnung’).


How are the awardees selected?

The jury comprises the BYRD advisory board (‘Beirat’, consisting of doctoral candidates, postdocs and professors) and one member of the prize money sponsors (alumni e.V.). The evaluation of the nomination forms as well as the personal statement will be considered in the selection process. A supervisor must receive at least two nominations in order to be eligible.


You would like to nominate your supervisor for the Award for Outstanding Doctoral Supervision? The next nomination period is planned for 2021.

Dr. Marie Sander
Bremen Early Career Researcher Development

Phone: 0421-218-60327
Email: marie.sanderprotect me ?!vw.uni-bremenprotect me ?!.de
Building: SFG Room 0265

Nominations are no longer possible. The winners of the Award for Outstanding Doctoral Supervision were announced on July 1st 2019.