Types of eassessment

Three categories of e-assessments can be distinguished depending on the timing and objective of the assessment:

Diagnostic Assessments

Time: Before a teaching unit

Objectives: Enable self-assessment, capture prior knowledge, adapt teaching, grade, select

Formative Assessments

Time: During a learning unit

Objectives: Enable self-assessment, influence learning processes, check learning status, adapt teaching

Face to face

Summative Assessments

Time: After completion of a teaching unit

Objectives: Review learning outcomes, assess, certify competencies

Face to Face