Skip to main content

Examination Boards

Pursuant to the general part AT of bachelor’s and master’s examination regulations, the Examination Board is responsible for the organization of examinations and all other related matters. It decides in final instance on matters concerning

  • consequences for breaching examination rules and regulations
  • whether the Bachelor’s Thesis is a pass or a failure
  • recognition of periods of study, examination and study achievements
  • scheduling registration dates for examinations
  • appointments of examiners, other committee members, and experts
  • fixing and prolongation of lead time for the bachelor’s or master’s thesis
  • the issue of certificates, documents, and diploma supplements
  • issuing of notices

It has the right to be present at examinations as well as during subsequent evaluation talks and when examination results are disclosed to candidates in order to ensure that examinations are performed in an orderly manner and in accordance with examination regulations.

An examination board comprises 3 professors of the Faculty, 1 research assistant, and 1 student belonging to the respective degree program.

Examination BoardChair Person
BSc BiologyProf. Dr. Martin Diekmann
BSc ChemistryProf. Dr. Boris Nachtsheim
MSc Biochemistry and Molecular BiologyProf. Dr. Barbara Reinhold-Hurek
MSc EcologyProf. Dr. Martin Diekmann
MSc ISATECProf. Dr. Matthias Wolff
MSc Marine BiologyProf. Dr. Wilhelm Hagen
MSc Marine MicrobiologyProf. Dr. Nicole Dubilier
MSc NeurosciencesProf. Dr. Michael Koch
MSc ChemistryProf. Dr. Tim Stauch

Decentralized examination boards in FB2

Sylvia Köhler is responsible for

  • Bachelor Biology
  • MSc Ecology
  • MSc Marine Biology
  • MSc Marine Microbiology
  • MSc Neurosciences

Frauke Ernst is responsible for

  • Bachelor Chemistry
  • MSc Biochemistry and Molecular Biology BMB
  • MSc Chemie

The Master of Education is administrated by the Central Examination Board (ZPA).