Particle-Based Materials Symposium 2024

Processing of functional nanoparticles into higher-order structures

23-24 September 2024

House of Science, Bremen

The Particle-Based Materials Symposium was initiated with a first workshop 2016 with the aim to bring together scientists and engineers from different communities that all share the goal of creating functionality in materials using particles. Since then, the symposium takes place as a yearly meeting with talks covering the synthesis, processing and materials integration of particles into thin films, bulk matrices, fibers or other geometries. With this focus, the symposium successfully fills the gap between fundamental aspects of colloid science and synthesis of functional nanoparticles and the applications of these nanostructures in the context of materials science and engineering. Accordingly, contributions from the fields of nanoparticles and nanostructured materials, colloids, self-assembly and functional structured materials are welcome. The special focus of the planned symposium will be on “processing of functional nanoparticles into higher-order structures".

Invited Speakers

Foto von To Ngai

Particles at Interfaces: Emulsions and Functional Materials

To Ngai, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Foto von Laura Rossi

Harnessing colloidal assembly for materials design

Laura Rossi, Delft University of Technology

Foto von Anna Fischer

Tailored porous carbon nanospheres for electrochemical energy conversion and storage

Prof. Dr. Anna Fischer, University of Freiburg

Foto von Lutz Mädler

Creation of synergies in tailor-made mixtures of heterogeneous powders

Prof. Lutz Mädler, University of Bremen, Leibniz Institute for Materials Engineering IWT


You can contact the organizing comitte via e-mail at:

pbm2024protect me ?!uni-bremenprotect me ?!.de


Organization Committee:
PD Dr. Michael Maas
Fabian Menke
Olapeju Grace Oyedepo
Ebubekir Can Güneş
Corinna González


Scientific Committee:
PD Dr. Michael Maas, Advanced Ceramics, University of Bremen
Prof. Dr. Georg Garnweitner, Institute for Particle Technology, TU Braunschweig
Prof. Dr. Robin Klupp Taylor, Institute of Particle Technology, FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg
Prof. Dr. Tobias Kraus, Structure Formation, Leibniz Institute for New Materials, Saarbrücken
Prof. Dr. Alexander Kühne, Institute of Macromolecular and Organic Chemistry, Ulm University
Prof. Dr. Karl Mandel, Department of Chemistry and Pharmacy, FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg
Prof. Dr. Doris Segets, Institute for Combustion and Gas Dynamics, University Duisburg-Essen
Prof. Dr. Nicolas Vogel, Institute of Particle Technology, FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg

Updated by: MAPEX