Skip to main content

Course Catalog

Study Program WiSe 2020/2021

Neurosciences, M.Sc.

Show courses: all | in english | for older adults

General Information

1. Exam week: 14.12.2020 to 18.12.2020
2. Exam week:15.02.2021 to 19.02.2021
Course numberTitle of eventLecturer
Lab Safety and Fire Prevention Workshop (in English)
Lab safety and fire prevention workshop

Exercises (Teaching)

Dear Master-students,
please note that a safety instruction /briefing with a following fire drill well be held in building
on 11.11.2020, start 07:30-11:30 h, in HS 2010 (Keksdose).
Participation is obligatory!
Without proof of attendance you are not allowed to work in the labs.
Please wear for fire drill shoes and clothing against rain.
This course will be held in two groups:
Group 1: Students of the master of Marine Microbiology, Neurosciences and Marine Biology/ ISATEC
start: 7:30 room HS 2010 (Keksdose)
lesson starts 8:00 am to 8:45
from 8:45 am meet at the practice area (Emmy-Noether-Str. behind the Cartesium building)
Fire drill starts at 9:00 to 10:00 am

Group 2: Students of the master of Chemistry, Ecology and BMB
start: 9:00 room HS 2010 (Keksdose)
lesson starts 9:15 am to 10:00
from 10:15 am meet at the practice area (Emmy-Noether-Str. behind the Cartesium building)
Fire drill starts at 10:30 to 11:30 am

Mihaela Gianina Torozan

Term 1

Module 401: Cellular and Molecular Neurosciences and Mentoring (6CP)

Person in charge for the module: Prof. Dr. Michael Koch
6 ECTS
Written/Oral Examination:
Course numberTitle of eventLecturer
02-M18-401aNeurochemistry (in English)

Lecture (Teaching)

Additional dates:
Mon. 02.11.20 - Fri. 06.11.20 (Mon., Tue., Wed., Thu., Fri.) 10:00 - 12:00
Mon. 09.11.20 - Fri. 13.11.20 (Mon., Tue., Wed., Thu., Fri.) 10:00 - 12:00
Mon. 16.11.20 - Fri. 20.11.20 (Mon., Tue., Wed., Thu., Fri.) 10:00 - 12:00

Block course from November 2 to November 20, 2020

mondays 10-12 am

Zoom online

Prof. Dr. Michael Koch
02-M18-401bNeuropharmacology (in English)

Seminar (Teaching)

Additional dates:
Mon. 21.12.20 - Wed. 23.12.20 (Mon., Tue., Wed.) 10:00 - 12:00
Mon. 04.01.21 - Fri. 08.01.21 (Mon., Tue., Wed., Thu., Fri.) 10:00 - 12:00
Mon. 11.01.21 - Fri. 15.01.21 (Mon., Tue., Wed., Thu., Fri.) 10:00 - 12:00
Mon. 18.01.21 - Wed. 20.01.21 (Mon., Tue., Wed.) 10:00 - 12:00

Block course from Dec. 21, 2020 to Jan. 22, 2021

10-12 am

Zoom online

The seminar will be held daily in conjunction with 02-M18-404b.

Prof. Dr. Michael Koch
Prof. Dr.med. Dr.phil. Manfred Herrmann

Module 402: Systemic Neurosciences (6CP)

Person in charge for the module: Prof. Dr. Olivia Masseck
6 ECTS
Written/Oral Examination:
Course numberTitle of eventLecturer
02-M18-402Comparative Neuroanatomy (in English)

Lecture (Teaching)

Additional dates:
Tue. 24.11.20 - Wed. 25.11.20 (Tue., Wed.) 10:00 - 12:00
Fri. 27.11.20 10:00 - 12:00
Tue. 01.12.20 - Wed. 02.12.20 (Tue., Wed.) 10:00 - 12:00
Fri. 04.12.20 10:00 - 12:00
Tue. 08.12.20 - Wed. 09.12.20 (Tue., Wed.) 10:00 - 12:00
Fri. 11.12.20 10:00 - 12:00

Block course
from November 23, 2020 to December 11, 2021
on Tuesdays, Wednesdays Fridays 10-12 am

Zoom online

Prof. Dr. Olivia Masseck
02-M18-402aComperative Neuroanatomy

Exercises (Teaching)

Additional dates:
Wed. 25.11.20 13:00 - 15:00
Wed. 02.12.20 13:00 - 15:00
Wed. 09.12.20 13:00 - 15:00

Zoom online

on Wednesday 25.11, 2.12, 9.12.2020
13-15 am

Prof. Dr. Olivia Masseck
02-M18-402bCognitive Neurophysiology (in English)

Lecture (Teaching)

Additional dates:
Mon. 21.12.20 13:00 - 15:00 Cog 1030
Mon. 28.12.20 13:00 - 15:00 Cog 1030
Mon. 04.01.21 13:00 - 15:00 Cog 1030
Mon. 11.01.21 13:00 - 15:00 Cog 1030
Mon. 18.01.21 13:00 - 15:00 Cog 1030
Mon. 25.01.21 13:00 - 15:00 Cog 1030
Mon. 01.02.21 13:00 - 15:00 Cog 1030
Mon. 08.02.21 13:00 - 15:00 Cog 1030

Lecture 1 semester hour per week: Block course from December 21, 2020 to February. 12, 2021
Lectures will be held in Cognium, room 1030 on Monday from 13:00-15:00

Prof. Dr. Andreas Kreiter

Module 403: Theoretical Neurosciences

Person in charge for the module: Prof. Dr. Klaus Pawelzik
6 ECTS

Written/Oral Examination:
Course numberTitle of eventLecturer
02-M18-403Computational Neurosciences I
Theoretical Neurosciences

Exercises (Teaching)

Additional dates:
Fri. 25.12.20 14:00 - 16:00 Cog 0320
Fri. 01.01.21 14:00 - 16:00 Cog 0320
Fri. 08.01.21 14:00 - 16:00 Cog 0320
Fri. 15.01.21 14:00 - 16:00 Cog 0320
Fri. 22.01.21 14:00 - 16:00 Cog 0320
Fri. 29.01.21 14:00 - 16:00 Cog 0320
Fri. 05.02.21 14:00 - 16:00 Cog 0320
Fri. 12.02.21 14:00 - 16:00 Cog 0320

Exercises 2 semester hours per week: Block course from December 21, 2020 to February 12, 2021 Friday, 14:00-16:00
Lectures will be held in Cognium, Room 0320

Dr. Udo Alexander Ernst
02-M18-403aComputational Neurosciences I
Theoretical Neurosciences

Lecture (Teaching)

Additional dates:
Tue. 22.12.20 14:00 - 16:00 Cog 1030
Tue. 29.12.20 14:00 - 16:00 Cog 1030
Wed. 06.01.21 16:00 - 18:00
Tue. 12.01.21 14:00 - 16:00 Cog 1030
Tue. 19.01.21 14:00 - 16:00 Cog 1030
Tue. 26.01.21 14:00 - 16:00 Cog 1030
Tue. 02.02.21 14:00 - 16:00 Cog 1030
Tue. 09.02.21 14:00 - 16:00 Cog 1030

Lecture will be held 2 semester hours per week: Block course from January 6, 2021 to February 9, 2021 Wednesdays, 14:00-16:00 in Cognium, Room 1030

Exercises, Fridays, 08.01.2021 to 12.02.2021, 14:00-16:00

Dr. Udo Alexander Ernst
02-M18-403bStatistical Methods (in English)
Theoretical Neurosciences

Exercises (Teaching)

Additional dates:
Tue. 03.11.20 12:00 - 14:00 Cog 1030
Thu. 05.11.20 12:00 - 14:00 Cog 1030
Tue. 10.11.20 12:00 - 14:00 Cog 1030
Thu. 12.11.20 12:00 - 14:00 Cog 1030
Tue. 17.11.20 12:00 - 14:00 Cog 1030
Thu. 19.11.20 12:00 - 14:00 Cog 1030
Tue. 24.11.20 12:00 - 14:00 Cog 1030
Thu. 26.11.20 12:00 - 14:00 Cog 1030
Tue. 01.12.20 12:00 - 14:00 Cog 1030
Thu. 03.12.20 12:00 - 14:00 Cog 1030
Tue. 08.12.20 12:00 - 14:00 Cog 1030
Thu. 10.12.20 12:00 - 14:00 Cog 1030

Lectures and exercises will be held in Cognium, room 1030 2 semester hours per week: Block course from November 2 to December 11, 2020, Tuesday and Thursday, 12:00-14:00

Prof. Dr. Thorsten Fehr, Dipl.-Psych.

Module 404: Clinical Neurosciences (6CP)

Person in charge for the module: Prof. Dr. Dr. Manfred Herrman
6 ECTS
Written/Oral Examination:
Course numberTitle of eventLecturer
02-M18-404aClinical Neuropsychology (in English)
Clinical Neurosciences

Lecture (Teaching)

Additional dates:
Mon. 25.01.21 - Fri. 29.01.21 (Mon., Tue., Wed., Thu., Fri.) 10:00 - 12:00 Cog 1030
Mon. 01.02.21 - Fri. 05.02.21 (Mon., Tue., Wed., Thu., Fri.) 10:00 - 12:00 Cog 1030
Mon. 08.02.21 - Fri. 12.02.21 (Mon., Tue., Wed., Thu., Fri.) 10:00 - 12:00 Cog 1030

Block course from January 25 to February 12, 2021, 10:00-12:00
Lectures will be held daily in Cognium, room 1030..

Prof. Dr.med. Dr.phil. Manfred Herrmann
Dr. Margarethe Korsch
02-M18-404bClinical Neurology (in English)
Clinical Neusciences

Lecture (Teaching)

Additional dates:
Mon. 21.12.20 12:00 - 14:00
Tue. 22.12.20 12:00 - 14:00 Cog 1030
Wed. 06.01.21 - Fri. 08.01.21 (Wed., Thu., Fri.) 12:00 - 14:00 Cog 1030
Mon. 11.01.21 12:00 - 14:00
Tue. 12.01.21 - Fri. 15.01.21 (Tue., Wed., Thu., Fri.) 12:00 - 14:00 Cog 1030
Mon. 18.01.21 12:00 - 14:00
Tue. 19.01.21 - Fri. 22.01.21 (Tue., Wed., Thu., Fri.) 12:00 - 14:00 Cog 1030

Block course from Dec. 21, 2020 to Jan. 22, 2021

12-14 pm

Zoom online

The seminar will be held daily in conjunction with 02-M18-401b.

Prof. Dr. Michael Koch
Prof. Dr.med. Dr.phil. Manfred Herrmann

Module 405: Laboratory Animal Science (3CP)

Person in charge for the module: Prof. Dr. Michael Koch
3 ECTS
Written/Oral Examination/Protocolls:
Course numberTitle of eventLecturer
02-M18-415Laboratory Animal Science (in English)

Exercises (Teaching)

Exercices 4 semester hours per week:
Block course daily from February 22 to February 26, 2021, 09:00 - 18:00 in Cognium, Room 1030 resp. 1370.

Prof. Dr. Andreas Kreiter
Prof. Dr. Michael Koch
Dr. Detlef Wegener
Prof. Dr. Olivia Masseck

Module 414: Programming (3CP)

Person in charge for the module: Prof. Dr. Klaus Pawelzik
3 ECTS
Written/ Oral Examination
Course numberTitle of eventLecturer
02-M18-414Programming

Lecture (Teaching)
ECTS: 3

Lectures and exercises 2 semester hours per week: Block course from Nov. 23 to December 11, 2020, Thuesdays and Thursdays alternating, 14:00-16:00. Lectures/ exercises will be held in Cognium, room 1030 and 0320.

Dr. Peter Erhard
02-M18-414aProgramming (in English)

Practical (Teaching)

Lectures and exercises 2 semester hours per week: Block course from December 21, 2020 to January 22, 2021, Wednesdays and Thursdays alternating, 14:00-16:00 and lectures/ exercises will be held in Cognium, room 1030.

Dr. Peter Erhard

Term 2

Introductory week

Module representative: Prof. Dr. Michael Koch
3 CP
Course numberTitle of eventLecturer
02-M18-400First introductory meeting (in English)

Lecture (Teaching)
ECTS: 3

Additional dates:
Mon. 26.10.20 - Fri. 30.10.20 (Mon., Tue., Wed., Thu., Fri.) 10:00 - 16:00 Cog 0030 (Besprechungsraum)

First introductory week 26.10.2020 to 30.10.2020, 10:00 to 16:00
Cognium, room 0030

Christmas break: December 23, 2020 till January 5, 2021

Prof. Dr. Michael Koch

Term 3

Lab Rotation 1

15 CP
Course numberTitle of eventLecturer
02-M18-501Advanced Studies in Neurosciences 2 (Labrotation 1) (in English)

Practical (Teaching)
ECTS: 15

The courses take place in the first half of the semester.
Only students of the Master of Neurosciences are allowed to attend (max. 20 participants)

Dr. Detlef Wegener
Dr. Ekkehard Küstermann
Dr. Margarethe Korsch
Dr. Peter Erhard
Dr. Udo Alexander Ernst
PD Dr. Birgit Mathes
Prof. Dr. Andreas Kreiter
Prof. Dr. Klaus Pawelzik
Prof. Dr. Michael Koch
Prof. Dr. Thorsten Fehr, Dipl.-Psych.
Prof. Dr.med. Dr.phil. Manfred Herrmann
Prof. Dr. Olivia Masseck

Lab Rotation 2

15 CP
Course numberTitle of eventLecturer
02-M18-502Advanced Studies in Neurosciences 2 (Labrotation 2) (in English)

Practical (Teaching)
ECTS: 15

The cources take place in the second half of the semester. Only students of the Master of Neurosciences are allowed to attend (max. 20 participants)

Dr. Detlef Wegener
Dr. Ekkehard Küstermann
Dr. Margarethe Korsch
Dr. Peter Erhard
PD Dr. Birgit Mathes
Prof. Dr. Andreas Kreiter
Prof. Dr. Klaus Pawelzik
Prof. Dr. Michael Koch
Prof. Dr. Thorsten Fehr, Dipl.-Psych.
Prof. Dr.med. Dr.phil. Manfred Herrmann
Prof. Dr. Olivia Masseck