The University's Tenure Board

Logo of the University of Bremen.

Since 2018 the Tenure Board of the University is a standing committee of the Academic Senate responsible for all professorships with a tenure option. It makes recommendations for the design and improvement of the procedures in order to ensure consistent quality standards throughout the university as well as transparency and procedural safety of the evaluations. The Tenure Board decides upon the transfer from a fixed-term position with a tenure option into a permanent professorship after evaluation of the tenure track.

Each faculty proposes a university professor as a member of the Tenure Board. The Tenure Board members are elected for a period of four years by the Academic Senate. The Vice-President for Research is also a voting member of the Tenure Board. The Central Women's Representative of the university is a member in an advisory capacity.

Tenure Board Members

  • Faculty 01: Prof. Dr. MartinEickhoff
  • Faculty 02: Prof. Dr. Jan-Hendrik Hehemann
  • Faculty 03: Prof. Dr. Nicole Megow
  • Faculty 04: Prof. Dr. Sven Kerzenmacher (deputy chairperson)
  • Faculty 05: Prof. Dr. Dierk Hebbeln
  • Faculty 06: Prof. Dr. Patrick Leyens
  • Faculty 07: Prof. Dr. Martin Möhrle
  • Faculty 08: Prof. Dr. Arndt Wonka
  • Faculty 09: Prof. Dr. Kerstin Radde-Antweiler (chairperson)
  • Faculty 10: Prof. Dr. Kerstin Knopf
  • Faculty 11: Prof. Dr. Wolf Rogowski
  • Faculty 12: Prof. Dr. Anne Levin
  • Vice President for Research and Transfer: Prof. Dr. Michal Kucera
  • Central Women’s Representative: Kathrin Sebastian

Tenure Board Responsibilities

Faculties may contact their respective Tenure Board member with procedural questions from the moment a tenure-track professorship is approved.

The Tenure Board members have developed, among other things, General Criteria for Evaluation Agreements as the basis for evaluation criteria (in accordance with the relevant evaluation regulations), as well as guidelines, handouts, and templates that serve to ensure the quality of the Tenure-Track process from the time of announcement to the evaluation of a professorship with tenure option.

The Tenure Board decides on the basis of the evaluation agreement, the application documents, the recommendation of the evaluation commission and the external peer review whether the professorship can be tenured and turned into a permanent position.



Procedural Information

Here you find further information like the guidelines and templates on interim evaluation and evaluation of professorships with tenure option in German language (internal area, log-in required). We are currently working on translations into English language.

Management and Support

Dr. Cathleen Grimsen
Administrative Unit 11 - University Development and Capacity Planning
Phone +49 (0)421 218 60310



Johanne Dirks
Administrative Unit 01 – President’s Office/
Bureau for Presidential Affairs
Phone: +49 (0)421 218 60112

Meetings 2022

  • 16 Februar
  • 27 April
  • 22 Juni
  • 09 November