Dr. Hans Riegel Awards for Outstanding Research by Pupils

On November 13, 2023, the University of Bremen and the Dr. Hans Riegel Foundation honored pupils from the region for their outstanding pre-scientific papers. The Dr. Hans Riegel Awards are endowed with a total of 5,800 euros.

A total of 13 papers by students from the following schools were honored: Alte Gymnasium, Hermann-Böse-Gymnasium, Gymnasium Horn, Oberschule an der Ronzelenstraße, Ecumenical Gymnasium in Bremen, Carl von Ossietzky School Center, and St. Johannis School. With a focus on STEM subjects, several project papers from the fields of biology, chemistry, geography, computer sciences, mathematics, and physics were submitted to the University of Bremen for the Dr. Hans Riegel Award. These were judged by a jury comprised of researchers and a particular focus was placed on a creative topic and a clearly recognizable, practical part, for example in the form of experiments.

Attracting Excellent Young Talent

The award winners from Bremen and Bremerhaven were honored at the award ceremony at the University of Bremen. Dr. Mandy Boehnke, Vice President for International Affairs, Academic Qualification, and Diversity, warmly congratulated them: "It is impressive to see so many exciting projects today and we would be delighted to welcome you as students at our university. Be sure to keep an alert mind, which appears to be central to understanding our increasingly complex world and helping to shape the future."

Kathrin Moosdorf, Senator for the Environment, Climate, and Science, is Bremen's patron of the competition and stated: "The so-called STEM subjects provide solutions to everyday questions. STEM – science, technology, engineering, mathematics and computer science – these subjects are close to life and practical. This is demonstrated by the work submitted and the ideas of the winners we are honoring today. I am delighted to see so many young people in Bremen who are keen to carry out research and make our world a little better. We need you to shape our future in a clever way. I would like to thank the Dr. Hans Riegel Foundation and the University of Bremen for supporting this potential and making it visible."

Beginning of Sustainable Support

Peter Laffin, project leader at the Dr. Hans Riegel Foundation, adds: "With the Dr. Hans Riegel Awards, we are finding, supporting, and networking the STEM talent that Germany will need as well-trained specialists in the future. The competition aims to pave the way for talented pupils to enter university. In addition to receiving acknowledgment from teaching staff members at universities, the awards for their pre-scientific work also gives the winners access to our numerous support programs, which connect them with researchers and other prize-winning students."

The Foundation and Its Specialist Awards

The foundation of former HARIBO co-owner Dr. Hans Riegel is particularly committed to promoting education – always with the aim of helping young people shape their future. The Dr. Hans Riegel Specialist Awards are endowed with 600 euros each for first place, 400 euros for second place, and 200 euros for third place. In addition, the schools of the first-place winners receive a non-cash prize of around 250 euros in recognition of the supervision of the students’ work by the respective subject teachers. The awards are awarded in cooperation with 15 German universities. Depending on the university, papers on natural sciences, computer sciences, and mathematics can be submitted. As only outstanding papers are honored, it may sometimes be the case that awards are not awarded in all of the three advertised categories and not for all three places.


Further Information:

Details of the individual prizewinners and their work can be found here (in German only):



Isabell Harder
University of Bremen
Administrative Unit 16, UniTransfer
Phone: + 49 421 218-57134
Email: isabell.harderprotect me ?!vw.uni-bremenprotect me ?!.de

Peter Laffin
Project Leader - Dr. Hans Riegel Awards
Dr. Hans Riegel Foundation
Phone: +49 228 227 44715
Email: peter.laffinprotect me ?!hans-riegel-stiftungprotect me ?!.com

Alexander Kukla
Head of Public Relations
Dr. Hans Riegel Foundation
Phone: +49 228 227 44725
Email: alexander.kuklaprotect me ?!hans-riegel-stiftungprotect me ?!.com

The picture shows a group of around 30 pupils. They are standing together with Katrin Moosdorf, Senator for Environment, Climate & Science and Dr. Mandy Boehnke, Vice-Rector for Internationality, Academic Qualification and Diversity at the University of Bremen, Mandy Böhnke.
The Dr. Hans Riegel Awards at the University of Bremen were presented by Peter Laffin (1st from left, Dr. Hans Riegel Foundation), Dr. Mandy Boehnke (5th from left, Vice President for International Affairs, Academic Qualification, and Diversity) and Senator Kathrin Moosdorf (6th from left, Senator for the Environment, Climate, and Science).