For a Competitive, Innovative and United Europe

Seven young universities belonging to the YERUN network have joined forces under the name of YUFE – Young Universities for the Future of Europe – in order to participate in an EU pilot funding call for European university networks. The University of Bremen is on board.

This EU initiative goes back to a speech made by French President Emmanuel Macron at the Sorbonne in September 2017, in which he encourages the formation of European network universities. These should be characterized by multilingual, innovative courses of study and thus re-energize the European idea. Twenty such networks are to be created by 2024. The first funding call is set to be this autumn.

Joint declaration signed in Brussels 

The seven universities from the Young European Research Universities Network (YERUN) will submit applications under the leadership of the University of Maastricht. In Brussels, they met under the acronym YUFE – Young Universities for the Future of Europe – and signed a joint statement on the core content of the application. The University of Bremen is on board, as well as the University of Rome Tor Vergata (Italy), the University of Antwerp (Belgium), the University of Eastern Finland, the Universidad Carlos III Madrid (Spain), and the University of Essex (Great Britain).

“We see ourselves as a pilot group” 

“We are thrilled to be part of the YERUN core group,” says Professor Eva-Maria Feichtner, Vice President Diversity and International at the University of Bremen. “Our partnership focuses on integrating teaching and research, new mobility concepts and intensive institutional exchange. Several students were also present at the meeting in Brussels and will continue to play a crucial role in shaping the application.”

Over the summer months, the universities of the YEFU initiative will engage in a close exchange so they will be ready to launch concrete plans for the agreed core content in autumn. “We will be able to rely on the many innovative approaches in the YERUN network,” says Eva-Maria Feichtner. “We see ourselves as a pilot group for the benefit of the entire YERUN network.”


The “Young European Research Universities Network”, YERUN for short, was formed in 2014. The network encompasses 18 strong research European universities that are less than 50 years old. YERUN gives a voice to the young universities in Europe.

More information under:   

If you would like to know more about this topic, feel free to contact:

Prof. Dr. Eva-Maria Feichtner
Vice President Diversity and International 
University of Bremen
Phone: +49 421 218-60040
Email: kon3protect me ?!uni-bremenprotect me ?!.de    

Group of men and women sitting at a table
The representatives of seven partner universities met in Brussels to sign the joint statement. Our photo shows members of the group together with University Vice President Eva-Maria Feichtner (front row, first from right).