DFG Network "Potentials and Challenges of Computational Communication Science Using the Example of Online Protest"

The network is a DFG-funded association of a total of 18 renowned communication researchers working in the research field of CCS. The DFG will fund the network for three years from December 2021 with a total of around 120,000 euros. A total of 7 network meetings are planned, to some of which other researchers will be invited. The network was funded and is coordinated by Prof. Dr. Stephanie Geise (ZeMKI, Bremen); Stephanie Geise is supported in the network work by network member PD Dr. Merja Mahrt (HHU Düsseldorf) as co-coordinator.

The challenges of digitalisation are currently being met in the social sciences with an expansion of the range of methods to include so-called computational methods. The sub-discipline Computational Communication Science (CCS) is also establishing itself in communication science. CCS seems particularly suitable for breaking down complex, multi-causal processes and phenomena and illuminating them from multiple perspectives. Despite its increasing establishment, CCS also faces challenges. In addition to a still outstanding reflection on the application of computational methods, a stronger theoretical grounding is called for. Because these problems cannot be solved by individuals, a stronger networking of researchers and an increase in the visibility and transparency of CCS research processes seems essential. In the DFG network, we are facing these challenges by demonstrating how CCS studies can contribute to the treatment of complex questions and be integrated into the existing canon of theory and methods, using the content-related bracket "online protest". The aim is thus not only to contribute to the stabilisation of CCS, but also to address concrete questions in a socially relevant and dynamic field of research.

Members of the network are:
1. Marko Bachl, Communication Science, University of Hohenheim 
2. Emese Domahidi, Communication Studies, TU Illmenau 
3. Lena Frischlich, Communication Studies, WWU Münster
4 Stephanie Geise, Communication Science, WWU Münster
5 Jörg Haßler, Communication Studies, LMU Munich
6 Jakob Jünger, Communication Studies, University of Greifswald 
7 Pascal Jürgens, Communication Studies, University of Mainz 
8th Christian Katzenbach, Communication Studies, HIIG Berlin
9th Merja Mahrt, Communication Studies, HHU Düsseldorf 
10 Judith Möller, Communication Studies, University of Amsterdam 
11. Julia Niemann-Lenz, Communication Studies, University of Music, Drama & Media 
12 Christian Nuernbergk, Communication Studies, University of Trier
13 Nicole Podschuweit, Communication Studies, University of Erfurt 
14 Cornelius Puschmann, Communication Studies, University of Bremen 
15 Michael Sülflow, Communication Studies, University of Mainz 
16 Annie Waldherr, Communication Studies, University of Vienna
17 Martin Wettstein, Communication Studies, University of Zurich 
18. Gregor Wiedemann, Computer Science, Hans Bredow Institute, Hamburg

Updated by: ZeMKI