Skip to content

Account after leaving Uni-Bremen

Can I use my university e-mail account after finishing my studies/employment or as a retiree?

For students

  • After your exmatriculation, your university account will continue to be active for another 18 months with limited permissions (e.g no VPN).
  • Your information will not be deleted immediately.
  • Prior to your account being locked and eventually deleted, you will receive three warning e-mails informing you of that fact and when it is going to happen.
  • A locked account still retains all of your information and can be unlocked again. To unlock it, we need a valid identity card and proof of your affiliation with the university (e.g. employee card, student card, guest, etc.).
  • Once your account is deleted, the information cannot be restored.

You can become a member of the Alumni Network to continue using your university account.

For employees

  • After the end of your employment, your university account expires.
  • The online tools website lets you check the end date. (Go to ‘Ihr Uni-Account’ -> ’ Ihre Daten im Identity Management ansehen’).
  • Prior to your account being locked and eventually deleted, you will receive three warning e-mails informing you of that fact and when it is going to happen.
  • A locked account still retains all of your information and can be unlocked again. To unlock it, we need a valid identity card and proof of your affiliation with the university (e.g. employee card, student card, guest, etc.).
  • Once your account is deleted, the information cannot be restored.

You can become a member of the Alumni Network to continue using your university account.

For retirees

  • Retired persons (pensioners) of the University of Bremen can continue to use the university account if they register as "Ehemalige"  with the
    Ehemaligenverwaltung’ .

Role-based accounts can not be retained and must be transferred to a successor using the ZfN-Onlinetools or they will expire.
 

Incoming e-mails will be accepted until your university account is locked and, if set up, can be forwarded to another address. ZfN-Onlinetools