Skip to main content

Types of eassessment

Three categories of e-assessments can be distinguished depending on the timing and objective of the assessment:

Diagnostic Assessments

Formative Assessments

Summative Assessments

Timing: Before a learning unit

Timing: During a learning unit

Timing: After completion of a learning unit

Goals: Enable self-assessment, capture prior knowledge, adapt teaching, grade, select

Goals: Enable self-assessment, steering learning processes, survey the learning status, adapt teaching

Goals: Review learning outcomes, assess, certify