Skip to main content

Department of Psychology

  • Welcome!

    This is the website of the Department of Psychology. We are a research and academic institution as part of Faculty 11 Human and Health Sciences at the University of Bremen.

  • Welcome!

    This is the website of the Department of Psychology. We are a research and academic institution as part of Faculty 11 Human and Health Sciences at the University of Bremen.

The Department of Psychology was re-established in 2018. The speaker of our department is Professor Dr. Dietmar Heubrock.

 

General Psychology  (Prof. Dr. Bettina von Helversen)

Developmental and Educational Psychology  (Prof. Dr. Marco F. H. Schmidt)

Clinical Psychology and Psychotherapy  (Prof. Dr. Nina Heinrichs)

Research Methods and Cognitive Psychology  (Prof. Dr. Markus Janczyk)

Neuropsychology and Behavioral Neurobiology  (Prof. Dr.  Dr. Manfred Herrmann)

Personality Psychology and Psychological Assessment  (Prof. Dr. Christian Kandler)

Forensic Psychology  (Prof. Dr. Dietmar Heubrock)

Social Psychology and Occupational & Organizational Psychology  (Prof. Dr. Joris Lammers)

Theoretical Psychology and Psychometrics  (Prof. Dr. Hans-Christian Waldmann)

News

Early Career Researcher Prize for Professor Markus Janczyk

Professor Markus Janczyk has received this year’s science prize for early career researchers from the Wilhelm Wundt Society. The prize is awarded for outstanding achievements in foundation research within the field of psychology.

Professor Markus Janczyk has been researching and teaching at the newly established Department of Psychology within the Faculty of Human and Health Sciences, University of Bremen, since April 2019. There he is head of the Research Methods and Cognitive Psychology working group. His work focusses on action control and multitasking, memory language comprehension, as well as cognitive modelling and applied statistics.

An external jury comprised of representatives from the fields of general psychology, biopsychology, developmental psychology, psychological methodology, and social psychology have attested that since his PhD, Professor Janczyk has proven himself to be one of the most productive and innovative international early-career researchers. “Innovative bridge building between cognitive-psychological sub disciplines is the trademark of his research,” it is stated in the assessment. “The foundation-oriented research interests of Mr. Janczyk are not only focused on one area – as can often be observed – but are widely spread.”

The research fields of human action control and psychomotor must be named. In memory psychology, he deals with the issues of how elements in our working memory are chosen and what happens with them when they are no longer available for cognitive processing. He is currently focused on the cognitive processing of presuppositions in the field of linguistic psychology – thus implicit contents that are assumed to be known by the recipient. Additionally, his work has included contributions to applied statistics and cognitive modelling. “As an author and co-author, he has published an impressive number of original, peer-to-peer reviewed works in all of these fields, which include numerous publications in the most renowned journals of our discipline,” stated the jury.

The Wilhelm Wundt Society (Wilhelm-Wundt-Gesellschaft) is a scientific association with the aim of promoting and developing psychological foundation research with its work. The namesake, Wilhelm Wundt, passed away 100 years ago. He is seen as the founder of psychology as an individual scientific discipline.

It is intended that the price be awarded at the upcoming German Psychological Society conference.

Further Information:

www.uni-bremen.de/en/

www.uni-bremen.de/en/research-methods-and-cognitive-psychology

www.wilhelm-wundt-gesellschaft.de (in German only)

_________________________________________________________

19.02.2020
Dr. Alexandra Zapko-Willmes (Postdoc at the working group of Professor Kandler) won the Dissertation Price of the Universitätsgesellschaft Bielefeld (https://50jahre.uni-bielefeld.de/2020/01/30/ausgezeichnet-die-besten-doktorarbeiten-aus-2019/

19.02.2020
Professor Heinrichs has been elected to the board of the German Research Foundation (DFG) https://www.uni-bremen.de/klips/team/prof-dr-nina-heinrichs

 

Events

Zum Hauptinhalt springen

Institut für Psychologie

  • Herzlich Willkommen!

    Sie befinden sich auf den Seiten des Instituts für Psychologie. Wir sind eine Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtung des Fachbereichs 11 der Universität Bremen.

  • Herzlich Willkommen!

    Sie befinden sich auf den Seiten des Instituts für Psychologie. Wir sind eine Forschungs- und Lehreinrichtung des Fachbereichs 11 der Universität Bremen.

Das Institut für Psychologie wurde 2018 neu gegründet. Der Sprecher des Instituts ist Professor Dr. Dietmar Heubrock.

 

Allgemeine Psychologie  (Prof. Dr. Bettina von Helversen)

Entwicklungspsychologie und Pädagogische Psychologie  (Prof. Dr. Marco F. H. Schmidt)

Klinische Psychologie und Psychotherapie  (Prof. Dr. Nina Heinrichs)

Forschungsmethoden und Kognitive Psychologie  (Prof. Dr. Markus Janczyk)

Neuropsychologie und Biologische Psychologie  (Prof. Dr. Dr. Manfred Herrmann)

Persönlichkeitspsychologie und Psychologische Diagnostik  (Prof. Dr. Christian Kandler)

Rechtspsychologie  (Prof. Dr. Dietmar Heubrock)

Sozialpsychologie mit Arbeits- & Organisationspsychologie (vakant)

Theoretische Psychologie und Psychometrie  (Prof. Dr. Hans-Christian Waldmann)

Aktuelles

Die neu zu besetzende Professur für Sozialpsychologie mit Arbeits- und Organisationspschologie ist ausgeschrieben.

____________________________

Nachwuchswissenschaftlerpreis für Psychologie-Professor

Professor Markus Janczyk erhält den diesjährigen Wissenschaftspreis für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs der Wilhelm-Wundt-Gesellschaft. Die Auszeichnung wird für herausragende Leistungen in der psychologischen Grundlagenforschung verliehen.

Professor Markus Janczyk forscht und lehrt seit April 2019 am neugegründeten Institut für Psychologie am Fachbereich Human- und Gesundheitswissenschaften der Universität Bremen. Er leitet dort die Arbeitsgruppe "Forschungsmethoden und Kognitive Psychologie". Zu seinen Schwerpunkten gehören Handlungssteuerung und Multitasking, Gedächtnis, Sprachverstehen sowie Kognitive Modellierung und Angewandte Statistik.

Eine externe Jury aus Vertreterinnen und Vertretern der Allgemeinen Psychologie, Biopsychologie, Entwicklungspsychologie, Psychologische Methodenlehre und der Sozialpsychologie bescheinigt Professor Janczyk, er habe sich seit seiner Promotion als einer der produktivsten und einfallsreichsten internationalen Nachwuchswissenschaftler erwiesen. „Innovative Brückenschläge zwischen kognitionspsychologischen Teildisziplinen sind das Markenzeichen seiner Forschung“, heißt es in der Begründung. „Die grundlagen¬orientierten Forschungsinteressen von Herrn Janczyk sind nicht - wie sonst vielfach zu beobachten - nur auf einen Bereich fokussiert, sondern breit angelegt.“

Hier seien als Forschungsgebiete die menschliche Handlungssteuerung und Psychomotorik zu nennen. In der Gedächtnispsychologie widme er sich Fragestellungen, wie Elemente im Arbeitsgedächtnis ausgewählt werden und was mit ihnen passiert, wenn diese nicht mehr für die kognitive Verarbeitung zur Verfügung stehen. In der Sprachpsychologie setze er zurzeit seinen Schwerpunkt auf die kognitive Verarbeitung von Präsuppositionen, also impliziter Inhalte, deren Wissen beim Rezipienten vorausgesetzt werden. Nicht zuletzt gehörten zu seinen Arbeiten auch Beiträge zur angewandten Statistik und der kognitiven Modellierung. „Auf all diesen Gebieten hat er als Autor und Koautor eine beeindruckende Anzahl von Originalarbeiten im peer-review-Verfahren publiziert, darunter zahlreiche Veröffentlichungen in den angesehensten Zeitschriften unseres Faches“, so die Jury.

Die Wilhelm-Wundt-Gesellschaft ist eine wissenschaftliche Vereinigung, die das Ziel hat, psychologische Grundlagenforschung zu fördern und durch ihre Arbeit weiterzuentwickeln. Der Namensgeber, Wilhelm Wundt, starb vor 100 Jahren. Er gilt als Begründer der Psychologie als eigenständige Wissenschaft.

Die Übergabe des Preises soll auf der kommenden Konferenz der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Psychologie e.V. stattfinden.

Weitere Informationen:
www.uni-bremen.de
www.uni-bremen.de/forschungsmethoden-und-kognitive-psychologie
www.wilhelm-wundt-gesellschaft.de

Veranstaltungen

09.06.2020

Mitteilung über die Absage und Verschiebung der Einweihungsfeier des Instituts für Psychologie (IfP)
Die sog. Corona-Pandemie hat leider auch Auswirkungen auf die geplante Einweihungsfeier des neu gegründeten Instituts für Psychologie (IfP) der Universität Bremen.
Mit der Einweihungsfeier wollten wir uns bei allen Unterstützer*innen, der externen Berater*innengruppe, der Senatorischen Behörde und der Universitätsleitung und -verwaltung bedanken und gleichzeitig die Neuaufstellung der Psychologie in Bremen vorstellen. Aufgrund der absehbar bestehenden Kontaktbeschränkungen wird es uns nicht möglich sein, dieses Fest im Jahr 2020 zu feiern und wir müssen es mit großem Bedauern absagen. Wir hoffen jedoch, dass uns ein Nachholen der Einweihungsfeier im kommenden Jahr möglich sein wird und werden rechtzeitig informieren.