Skip to main content

Prof. Dr. Christian Kandler

Foto von Christian Kandler

Head

Address: Grazer Strasse 2c, Room 1170, 28359 Bremen

PO box: 330440, 28334 Bremen, Germany

Email: ckandlerprotect me ?!uni-bremenprotect me ?!.de

ORCID iD: 0000-0002-9175-235X

Phone: +49 (0)421 218-68770

Consultation: Thursday, 12:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. via Zoom (after prior arrangement by email to our secretary)

Christian Kandler studied psychology from 2002 to 2007 and received his diploma in psychology in 2007 at Friedrich Schiller University Jena. After his graduation, he conducted research and taught as a research assistant (2007-2012), assistant professor (2012-2016) and interim associate professor (2016-2017) at the Bielefeld University. He completed his doctorate thesis in 2010, entitled “The Nature of Personality: Validity, Continuiety and Interaction of the Genetic Make-up and Environment”, and received the venia legendi in psychology in 2017 with the habilitation thesis entitled “Genotype-Environment Interplay of Personality Development”. He was professor at the MSB Medical School Berlin (2017-2018). Since October 2018, he has moved to the University of Bremen for a Professorship of Personality Psychology and Psychological Assessment at the Department of Psychology in Bremen.

Kandlers research is focused on the description and explanation of patterns and dynamics of interindividual differences in intraindividual personality development across the lifespan. Since October 2015, he has been supervising the SPeADy research project. Moreover, as of October 2016, he is associate editor of the European Journal of Personality and since 2019 member of the Board of Directors of the International Society of the Study of Individual Differences. His research on the patterns and sources of personality differences and development has been awarded multiple times. Most recently, he won the Early Achievement Award 2018 of the European Association for Personality Psychology.

Publications: Publicationslist_Kandler

Research awards:

Kandler teaches courses of differential and personality psychology in the bachelor's program Psychology, psychological assessment and evaluation in both the psychological bachelor's and master's programs at the Department of Psychology, and behavioral genetics in the master's program Psychology. This includes aspects of developmental, social, and evolutionary psychology. The spectrum also captures psychological methodology, statistics, and data analyses.

To profile at Stud.IP

Zum Hauptinhalt springen

Prof. Dr. Christian Kandler

Foto von Christian Kandler

Leitung

Adresse: Grazer Straße 2c, Raum 1170, 28359 Bremen

Postfach: 330440, 28334 Bremen

E-Mail: ckandlerprotect me ?!uni-bremenprotect me ?!.de

ORCID-iD: 0000-0002-9175-235X

Telefon: +49 (0)421 218-68770

Sprechzeiten: Donnerstag, 12:00 – 13:00 Uhr via Zoom (nach voriger Anmeldung per E-mail im Sekretariat)

 

 

Christian Kandler studierte von 2002 bis 2007 Psychologie an der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena. Nach seinem Studienabschluss forschte und lehrte er als Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter (2007-2012), Akademischer Rat (2012-2016) und Vertretungsprofessor (2016-2017) in der Abteilung für Psychologie an der Universität Bielefeld. Dort promovierte er 2010 zum Thema „Die Natur der Persönlichkeit: Validität, Kontinuität und Interaktion von Anlage und Umwelt“ und habilitierte 2017 zum Thema „Genotype-Environment Interplay in Personality Development“. Von April 2017 bis September 2018 war er Professor für Differentielle und Persönlichkeitspsychologie an der MSB Medical School Berlin. Im Oktober 2018 nahm er einen Ruf der Universität Bremen auf die Professur für Persönlichkeitspsychologie und Psychologische Diagnostik an.

 

Der wesentliche Fokus Christian Kandlers Forschungsarbeit ist auf die Beschreibung und Erklärung von Mustern und Dynamiken von interindividuellen Unterschieden in intraindividueller Persönlichkeitsentwicklung über die Lebensspanne ausgerichtet. Seit Oktober 2015 leitet er das von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft geförderte Forschungsprojekt "Study of Personality Architecture and Dynamics". Darüber hinaus ist er seit 2016 Mitherausgeber des European Journal of Personality und seit 2019 im Board of Directors der International Society of the Study of Individual Differences. Dem Erfolg seiner Forschung zu den Mustern und Quellen von Persönlichkeitsunterschieden und Persönlichkeitsentwicklung wurde mehrfach durch Forschungspreise Ausdruck verliehen. Zuletzt gewann er den Early Achievement Award 2018 der European Association for Personality Psychology.

Publikationen: Publikationsliste_Kandler

Forschungspreise:

Das aktuelle Lehrangebot von Professor Kandler im Bachelorprogramm am Institut für Psychologie umfasst Vorlesungen und Seminare in den Fächern Differentielle Psychologie und Persönlichkeitspsychologie im Bachelorstudium Psychologie, Psychologische Diagnostik und Evaluation in den psychologischen Bachelor- und Masterstudiengängen des Instituts für Psychologie sowie Verhaltensgenetik im Masterstudium Psychology. Dabei werden psychologische Nachbardisziplinen wie Entwicklungspsychologie, Sozialpsychologie und Evolutionspsychologie gestreift. Ferner gehören Psychologische Forschungsmethoden und Statistische Datenanalyse zum Repertoire.

Zum Profil bei Stud.IP