Welcome to Our Community of Practice

As of 31 December 2013, the BALLON team will no longer be represented in the following collaborations and working groups due to the end of the project. Their continued existence is independent of BALLON, with the exception of the specially initiated BALLON round table.

One of the goals of the BALLON project is to create a community of practice as a place of networking and knowledge sharing on accessibility in e-learning and teaching.

We aim to establish a community of practice to connect the different initiatives, departments, and stakeholders within the university working in the field of digital accessibility. In addition to these inner-university activities, a central cross-university network is being established to promote accessibility in digital teaching and learning. In this way, we want to facilitate an exchange between teaching staff at Bremen’s universities and external stakeholders. This will create a platform where knowledge on accessible digital teaching can be developed and shared.

If you are interested in becoming part of this network or want to learn more, we from the BALLON team look forward to hearing from you. One of the ways to get in touch with us is by sending us an email to ballonprotect me ?!uni-bremenprotect me ?!.de (Note: As of 31 December 2013, this e-mail address will no longer be available due to the end of the project.)

In-House Cooperation

At the University of Bremen, there are already various points of contact, initiatives, and institutions that deal with the topics of accessibility, inclusion, and diversity. The special focus of the BALLON project is on accessibility in digitalization of learning and teaching, and therefore, we are networking with colleagues, exchanging ideas on the topic, and are jointly trying to create an accessible university learning environment. 

For this purpose, the BALLON round table meets once a month. Its members are:

Regular Members / Core Team

Associated Members

Maria Bossauer (Administrative Unit 03, KOMMA)Eva-Maria Feichtner (Vice President International and Diversity)

Christina Broo (BALLON)

Anke Semrau (Administrative Unit 01)

Christina Gloerfeld (BALLON)


kivi (Critical Initiative for Diversity and Inclusion)


Nele Kuhn (Administrative Department 01: Diversity Management)


Franziska Richter (Administrative Unit 13: Teaching and Studies)


Martina Salm (ZMML)


Marica Tomiak (Administrative Unit 01: President’s Office) 

Nadja Willy (BALLON)


Johanna Yaacov (Administrative Unit 01: President’s Office)


Ingrid Zondervan (KIS)