Course Structure

Cultural Research at Bremen is taught as a Double Bachelor’s based on the so-called equal model. Students can combine a Major with a further subject (Minor). As a Major the BA in Cultural Research counts as 120 Credit Points (CP) and as a Minor, 60 CP.

The course consists of three separate study phases (introductory, intermediate and advanced). These phases roughly correspond to the following study years:

  • Year one: the introductory modules familiarize students with basic subjects, theories and methods in the discipline.
  • Year two: the intermediate modules cover foundational material and more in-depth treatment of subsidiary areas and current fields in Anthropology and Cultural Research; dealing for example with complex connections between economics, politics, religion, regional issues and culture. In this phase students receive training in methods of empirical cultural research.
  • Year three: the advanced-phase modules are devoted to specific problem areas and subjects comprising core course content in Anthropology or Communications Studies (e.g Economics, Religion, Media, Film, Theatre, Medicine, Migration, Diversity Management, Globalization, Corporate Culture, etc.). The practical or vocational module and self-study modules allow students to acquire skills enabling them to tackle academic and real-world problems independently (e.g. via research-based learning, professional internships. etc).

Both Major and Minor respectively are made up of a specific number of obligatory and obligatory elective modules. In addition to the above-mentioned modules, the inclusion of General Studies allows students to attend lectures inFaculty 9 -or the entire University teaching syllabus based on personal preference and interest. The BA in Cultural Research requires students to complete 18 CP in General Studies, 3 of which are for vocational projects  and 15  are electivesthatstudents freely choose(for example in languages, music, theatre, etc)