Skip to main content


The MAPEX Center for Materials and Processes is represented by its speaker and the vice speaker, supported by the science manager. The central decision making body is the Executive Board, consisting of ten Principal Investigators and two Early Career Investigators. The International Advisory Board advises the center with respect to its strategic develompent.

Kurosch Rezwan


Prof. Dr.-Ing. Kurosch Rezwan

Universität Bremen
IW3, Room 2131
Am Biologischen Garten 2,
28359 Bremen
Phone: +49 421 218 64930
E-Mail: MAPEX speaker

Marc Avila

Vice speaker

Prof. Dr. Marc Avila

ZARM- Center of Applied Space Technology and Microgravity
Am Fallturm 2, 28359 Bremen
Phone: +49 (0)421-218- 57827
E-Mail: Vice Speaker


Hanna Lührs

Science manager

Dr. Hanna Lührs

Universität Bremen
IW3, Room 2230
Am Biologischen Garten 2,
28359 Bremen
Phone: +49 (0)421-218-64580

MAPEX Executive Board 2019 - 2020

The ten members of the executive board are elected for two years by the plenary meeting of the Principal Investigators, additionally two Early Career Investigatros (ECI) are assigned to be members of the executive board. The speaker and vice speaker are elected for two years from the ranks of the executive board.

  1. Marc Avila
  2. Martin Eickhoff
  3. Michael Fischer (ECI)
  4. Thorsten M. Gesing
  5. Katharina Koschek (ECI)
  6. Lutz Mädler
  7. Kurosch Rezwan
  8. Tim Stauch
  9. Kirsten Tracht
  10. Michael Vellekoop
  11. Tim Wehling


Sprecherrat 2020
MAPEX Executive Board from left to right: Kurosch Rezwan, Michael Fischer, Hanna Lührs, Tim Stauch, Lutz Mädler, Martin Eickhoff, Katharina Koschek, Marc Avila, Kirsten Tracht, Michael Vellekoop. Missing: Thorsten Gesing, Tim Wehling

Former Members of the MAPEX Executive Board

  • Marcus Bäumer (2014-2018)
  • Ralf Bergmann (2014 - 2019)
  • Michael Böhm (2014-2016)
  • Lucio Colombi Ciacchi (2014-2019)
  • Gerrit Dumstorff (2016-2018)
  • Nils Ellendt (2015-2019)
  • Reinhard X. Fischer (2014-2016)
  • Carsten Heinzel (2014-2016)
  • Stephen Kroll (2015-2016)
  • Walter Lang (2014-2019)
  • Anne Staubitz (2016-2019)
  • Hans-Werner Zoch (2014-2018)
  • Peter Maaß (2018-2020)

Former speaker

(October 2014 - October 2019)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Lucio Colombi Ciacchi
Universität Bremen
TAB-Gebäude, Raum 3.30
Am Fallturm 1, 28359 Bremen
Phone: +49 (0)421-218-64570
E-Mail: MAPEX speaker


Updated by: MAPEX