Skip to main content

Violence, Age and Gender (VAG)

What is it about?

Research innovations need cooperation. The interdisciplinary lab, which was founded as part of the WoC (Worlds of Contradiction) will approach the topic of “Violence, Age and Gender” from a legal and social science perspective and bundle competencies. The aim is to merge national and international knowledge about the occurrence and causes of gender-specific violence and harassment in public, institutional, and private spheres in an interdisciplinary manner to derive further research questions and develop strategies to prevent violence. Starting point is the current Convention 190 on the elimination of violence and harassment in the work environment adopted by the International Labour Organization (ILO).

Experiencing violence in a structural and individual way means to live in and with contradictions. Forms of violence are experienced at different times of life and within different circumstances, which affects social and individual development opportunities.

Ten Bremen University scholars from three departments (Law, Social Sciences, Pedagogy and Educational Sciences) and three institutes (bigas, artec, and SOCIUM) use gender as the common analysis criterion for the investigation of violence-induced contradictions in (the course of) life, applying an intersectional perspective. The intertwined inequality dimensions gender, age, class, and ethnicity result in overlaps with violence, migration, and racism.

The underlying interdisciplinary and interdependent concept of violence allows the investigation of governmental, institutional, organisational or interpersonal violence against people of all genders and different age groups as well as power relationships, such as power imbalances in employment relationships or multiple discrimination. Sources related to international and regional legal conventions, including their monitoring, as well as research results from the legal and social sciences are used as the foundation.

The lab thus builds on the gender research that has been established at the University of Bremen since the 1980s and, with its interdisciplinary perspective on the subject of violence, aims at a theory-practice transfer contributing to concrete improvements of living conditions. The results will be made available for knowledge transfer between politics, administrations, and civil society.
 

Who is involved?

Prof. Dr. Konstanze Plett, LL.M. (founding member)

Prof. Dr. Ursula Rust (founding member)

Prof. Dr. Simone Scherger (founding member)

Prof. Dr. Ines Weller (founding member)

Prof. Dr. Betül Yarar (founding member)

Ass. Pro. Dr. Fatma Karakaş-Doğan (founding member)

Dr. Ruth Abramowski (founding member)

Dr. Anna Hokema (founding member)

Dr. Sylke Meyerhuber (founding member)

Dr. Sabina Ritter (founding member)

Wiebke Blanquett, M.A. (founding member)

Privatdozent Dr. Thorsten Fehr (since 13.07.2020)

In addition to the active scholars involved, the lab collaborates with colleagues who pursue research within the tradition of gender research at the University of Bremen: Prof. Dr. Karin Gottschall (FB 8, SOCIUM board member, head of the department of “Dynamics of Inequality in Welfare Societies”) and Prof. Dr. Gabrielle Bolte (FB11, managing director of the IPP).

 

Preview

Various lectures and workshops with renowned European and international lawyers and sociologists researching violence are planned for 2021.

A larger conference (including around 100 participants) at the Protestant Academy “Loccum” is planned for December 2021, with the subsequent publication of an anthology collection.

 

Contact

Prof. Dr. Ursula Rust
Fachbereich Rechtswissenschaft
Universitätsallee, GW1
28359 Bremen
Tel.: +49 421 218-66080
E-Mail: urustprotect me ?!uni-bremenprotect me ?!.de

Dr. Ruth Abramowski
SOCIUM Forschungszentrum Ungleichheit und Sozialpolitik
Mary-Somerville-Straße 5
28359 Bremen
Tel.: +49 421 218-58550
E-Mail: ruth.abramowskiprotect me ?!uni-bremenprotect me ?!.de

Zum Hauptinhalt springen

Violence, Age and Gender (VAG)

Worum geht es?

Forschungsinnovationen brauchen Kooperationen. Das im Rahmen der Worlds of Contradiction (WoC) neu gegründete interdisziplinäre Lab wird sich der Thematik „Violence, Age and Gender“ aus rechts- und sozialwissenschaftlicher Perspektive nähern und Kompetenzen bündeln. Ziel des Labs ist es, nationales und internationales Wissen über Vorkommen und Ursachen geschlechtsspezifischer Gewalt und Belästigung im öffentlichen, institutionellen sowie auch privaten Raum interdisziplinär zusammenzuführen, um daraus weitere Forschungsfragen abzuleiten sowie Strategien zur Gewaltprävention zu entwickeln. Ausgangspunkt dafür ist das aktuelle Übereinkommen 190 über die Beseitigung von Gewalt und Belästigung in der Arbeitswelt der internationalen Arbeitsorganisation (ILO).

Gewalt strukturell und individuell zu erleben heißt, in und mit Widersprüchen zu leben. Formen der Gewalt werden zu verschiedenen Zeiten des Lebens und in unterschiedlichen Konstellationen erfahren; gesellschaftliche sowie individuelle Entwicklungschancen werden dadurch beeinträchtigt. 

Zehn Bremer Wissenschaftlerinnen aus drei Fachbereichen (6, 8, 12) und drei Instituten (bigas, artec und SOCIUM) nutzen für die Untersuchung von gewaltinduzierten Widersprüchen im Lebens(ver)lauf Gender als gemeinsames zentrales Analysekriterium, unter Einbezug einer intersektionalen Perspektive. Aus den jeweils miteinander verschränkten Ungleichheitsdimensionen Geschlecht, Alter, Klasse bzw. Schicht und Ethnizität ergeben sich Überlagerungen mit Gewalt, Migrationsprozessen und Rassismus. 

Der zugrunde gelegte interdisziplinäre und interdependente Gewaltbegriff erlaubt die Untersuchung staatlicher, institutioneller, organisationaler oder interpersoneller Gewalt gegenüber Menschen aller Geschlechter und verschiedener Altersgruppen sowie von Machtbeziehungen, wie beispielsweise in Arbeitsverhältnissen oder bezüglich Mehrfachdiskriminierungen. Als Grundlage dienen Quellen zu internationalen und regionalen völkerrechtlichen Übereinkommen einschließlich deren Überwachung sowie Forschungsergebnisse aus den Rechts- und Sozialwissenschaften. 

Das Lab knüpft somit an die an der Universität Bremen seit den 1980er Jahren etablierte Genderforschung an und verfolgt mit der interdisziplinären Sichtweise auf das Thema Gewalt einen Theorie-Praxis-Transfer, der dazu beiträgt, Lebensverhältnisse konkret zu verbessern. Die Forschungsergebnisse werden als Transferangebot für Politik, Verwaltung und Zivilgesellschaft zur Verfügung gestellt.

 

Wer arbeitet hier?

Prof. Dr. Konstanze Plett, LL.M. (Gründungsmitglied)

Prof. Dr. Ursula Rust (Gründungsmitglied)

Prof. Dr. Simone Scherger (Gründungsmitglied)

Prof. Dr. Ines Weller (Gründungsmitglied)

Prof. Dr. Betül Yarar (Gründungsmitglied)

Ass. Prof. Dr. Fatma Karakaş-Doğan (Gründungsmitglied)

Dr. Ruth Abramowski (Gründungsmitglied)

Dr. Anna Hokema (Gründungsmitglied)

Dr. Sylke Meyerhuber (Gründungsmitglied)

Dr. Sabine Ritter (Gründungsmitglied)

Wiebke Blanquett, M.A. (Gründungsmitglied)

Privatdozent Dr. Thorsten Fehr (seit 13.07.2020)

Neben den beteiligten aktiven Wissenschaftler*innen steht das Lab in einem Austausch mit den in der Bremer Tradition universitärer Genderforschung stehenden Kolleginnen Prof. Dr. Karin Gottschall (FB 8, Vorstand SOCIUM, Leiterin der Abteilung „Ungleichheitsdynamiken in Wohlfahrtsgesellschaften“) und Prof. Dr. Gabriele Bolte (FB 11, Geschäftsführende Direktorin des IPP).

 

Was findet statt? 

Für 2021 sind verschiedenen Vorträge bzw. Workshops mit anerkannten europäisch und international aktiven Jurist*innen und zu Gewalt forschenden Soziolog*innen geplant. 

Eine größere Konferenz (mit ca. 100 Teilnehmenden) für Anfang Dezember 2021 in der Evangelischen Akademie Loccum mit der anschließenden Veröffentlichung eines Sammelbandes ist bereits in Planung. 

 

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Ursula Rust
Fachbereich Rechtswissenschaft
Universitätsallee, GW1
28359 Bremen
Tel.: +49 421 218-66080
E-Mail: urustprotect me ?!uni-bremenprotect me ?!.de

Dr. Ruth Abramowski
SOCIUM Forschungszentrum Ungleichheit und Sozialpolitik
Mary-Somerville-Straße 5
28359 Bremen
Tel.: +49 421 218-58550
E-Mail: ruth.abramowskiprotect me ?!uni-bremenprotect me ?!.de