Types of eassessment

Three categories of e-assessments can be distinguished depending on the timing and objective of the assessment:

Diagnostic Assessments

Time: Before a teaching unit

Objectives: Enable self-assessment, capture prior knowledge, adapt teaching, grade, select

Formative Assessments

Time: During a learning unit

Objectives: Enable self-assessment, influence learning processes, check learning status, adapt teaching

Face to face

Summative Assessments

Time: After completion of a teaching unit

Objectives: Review learning outcomes, assess, certify competencies

Face to Face

Further types of exams

In the Assessment-Toolbox of the University of Bern you will find a selection guide to a collection of more than 70 assessment formats, most of which can also be implemented digitally supported. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us (infoprotect me ?!elearning.uni-bremenprotect me ?!.de).