Erasmus Research Internships for PhD Students

The program:

The ERASMUS program enables students and graduates of the University of Bremen to complete an internship, funded with an Erasmus grant, in one of the participating countries. These include the EU Member States, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Türkiye, and the French and Dutch overseas territories.

Students and graduates may receive up to 12 months (Staatsexamen 24 months) of funding in each study cycle (Bachelor, Master, PhD , Staatsexamen ). This can be divided among several stays abroad. For example, if a student has already received an Erasmus grant in his or her current study cycle, the length of the funding will be deducted from the twelve months. Internships can be funded both during studies and after graduation. The duration of the internship must be at least 2 months (60 days) and a maximum of 12 months.

The aim of the program is to let students and graduates acquire experiences relevant to their fields, expand their professional qualification, and extend their intercultural competence. Internships allow the participants to collect on-the-job-experience related to their studies, and build a network of professional contacts for their future career.

Who can apply?
All students of the University of Bremen (graduates, please see the page "ERASMUS internships for graduates"). This includes citizens of non-EU countries.
You can still apply if you have already completed a project funded by the ERASMUS program (study period / internship) as long as the total funding period does not exceed twelve months in your current study cycle.

What is funded?
Internships in companies, organizations or institutions of another Erasmus participating country. Research internships at universities can be also funded, as well as internships in NGOs, associations, foundations, political parties, and the EU country offices such as the representation of Bremen in Brussels.
To be funded, internships should be related to the field of study. They can be voluntary or mandatory.

The duration of the internship must be at least 2 months (60 days) and a maximum of 12 months.

What is the funding?

The financial support from the program Erasmus + is based on the cost of living in the host country. For the program year 2021/23 the groups are::

  • Group 1: Denmark, Finland, Ireland, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom.
  • Group 2: Belgium, France, Greece, Italy, Malta, Netherlands, Austria, Portugal, Spain, Cyprus.
  • Group 3: Bulgaria, Estonia, Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slowenia, Macedonia, Czech Republic, Türkiye, Hungary.

During the program year 2021/23 the University of Bremen supports ERASMUS internships with these grants:

Group 1: 600 Euro
Group 2: 540 Euro
Group 3: 480 Euro

Where can I apply?
You can apply, except for internships in the UK, here via our database MobilityOnline. Afterwards, please upload the following documents (which can be downloaded  in MobilityOnline:

  • Letter of motivation
  • Certificate of enrollment
  • Curriculum vitae (if possible in Europass format)
  • Confirmation of Training Placement (to be filled out by the company)
  • ECTS certificate or recognition in the case of voluntary internships

Please apply for Erasmus funding for internships in the UK via our 'Internships in the UK' website.

When can I apply?
The application for the ERASMUS funding of an internship abroad can be submitted anytime prior to the start of the internship at the International Office.
If you wish to do an internship after you graduate, you must submit the application before the end of your studies.

Internships can be supported in

  • all member-states of the European Union: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the UK,
  • the candidate countries: Türkei und Mazedonien,
  • the EEA-countries: Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway,
  • the overseas territories of EU-member states: Azores, Madeira, Canary Islands
  • the French overseas regions/collectivities: French Guiana, French Polynesia, French Southern and Antarctic Lands, Futuna, Guadeloupe, La Réunion, Miquelon, Martinique, Mayotte, New Caledonia, Saint-Barthélemy, Saint-Martin, Saint-Pierre, Valais
  • the British territories: Anguilla, Ascension Island, Bermuda, British Antarctic Territory, British Virgin Islands, British Indian Ocean Territory, Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Cayman Islands, Montserrat, Pitcairn Islands, St. Helena, South Georgia, Southern Sandwich Islands, Tristan da Cunha, Turks and Caico Islands
  • the Dutch territories: Aruba, Bonaire, Curacao, Netherlands Antilles, Saba, Sint Eustatius, Sint Maarten
  • the Italian communities: Campione d'Italia, Livigno, Italian part of Lake Lugano
  • the Spanish territories / regions: Ceuta, Melilla
  • the Greek region: Mount Athos
  • the Finnish island group: Åland
  • the Danish autonomous region: Greenland


Mathias Bücken
Tel.: +49 421 218-60374
Email: auslandspraktikaprotect me ?!uni-bremenprotect me ?!.de

Blog "Praxisschock"

Reports from internships abroad

On our blog 'Praxisschock' you will find the final reports of interns. In this way, you can experience first-hand how the adventure of an internship abroad is going for your fellow students - and maybe you'll feel like throwing yourself into the adventure yourself!