Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize

Since 1977, the Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize has been awarded annually to outstanding young researchers – as recognition for their work and at the same time to assist them in furthering their scientific careers. The award from the German Research Foundation (DFG) is considered the most important of its kind for young researchers in Germany. Ten prizes of 20,000 euros each are awarded each year.

Portrait of a young woman

Prof. Dr. Julia Borst


Julia Borst was awarded the Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize on May 4, 2021. The Romance scholar is considered a role model of dialogue-focused, ethically responsible science. With several contacts and presentation trips, especially to Africa and the Caribbean, Julia Borst maintains lively and highly productive research cooperations and also initiates cultural exchange by supporting readings. At the University of Bremen, Julia Borst is the vice spokesperson of the Institute for Postcolonial and Transcultural Studies (INPUTS) and one of the founding members of the Bremen research group “Digital Diaspora: Presented Communities in a Digital Space” (“Digitale Diaspora: vorgestellte Gemeinschaften im digitalen Raum”) in the Worlds of Contradiction research network. Since April 2021, she has temporarily held the “French Romance Studies: Literary Studies” professorship.

Prof. Dr. Céline Teney


Professor Céline Teney from the Department of Social Sciences at the University of Bremen is the recipient of the Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize 2016. Professor Céline Teney heads a cooperative junior research group at SOCIUM working on the topic “Winners of Globalization? A Study on the Emergence of a Transnational Elite in Europe”.


Dr.-Ing. Daniel Meyer


The German Research Foundation awards Daniel Meyer the Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize for his interdisciplinary research. As a research assistant in the Department of Production Technology, he integrates natural and engineering sciences. The biologist, who also holds a PhD in engineering, receives the most prestigious German award for young researchers for being a nationally and internationally recognized expert on the relationships between production processes and the modifications in the processed materials, in particular in connection with cooling lubricants.