Local Partner Universities

Location as an Opportunity

The University of Bremen collaborates with various partner universities in Bremen and the region in order to tap into synergies to offer an attractive range of undergraduate, graduate and PhD programs:

Logo des Verbundes Norddeutscher Universitäten

Association of North German Universities (VNU)

The Association of North German Universities, in short, VNU, is a network of eight universities from the German states of Bremen, Hamburg, Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania, Lower Saxony, and Schleswig-Holstein. The universities of Bremen, Hamburg, Greifswald, Rostock, Lüneburg, Oldenburg, Kiel, and Lübeck have been cooperating for more than 20 years, especially in the field of quality assurance of teaching and studying. The University of Groningen (NL) is an associated member. Not only the number of affiliated universities but also the range of topics covered by the VNU is continuously expanding. The VNU is currently testing a joint instrument, namely the Nordaudit (Northern Audit), for the further development of internal quality assurance procedures.

Additionally, several VNU working groups, such as the quality assurance working group, the research working group, and the general assembly of its presidents and rectors, are focusing on establishing a national research network and a joint university policy forum.

Gebäude der Universität Oldenburg

Carl von Ossietzky University of Oldenburg

In the field of research and academic education, the close geographical proximity has led to a number of linkages and cooperative partnerships among the North Germany universities. For certain subjects and school types, they can now offer cooperative degree programs. This opens the door to additional subject combinations, especially for students pursuing a teaching career.

In the field of law, there are joint degree courses of the Hanse Law School: the bachelor’s degree course “Comparative and European Law” and the consecutive master’s program “Transnational Law.” With its innovative teaching methods, a European-oriented education, and the internationally recognized degrees “Bachelor of Laws (LL.B.)” and “Master of Laws (LL.M.)”, the Hanse Law School offers modern and internationally oriented degree programs.

In the master's program "Physical Geography: Environmental History (M.Sc.)” students can take elective modules in the field of Soil Science at the University of Oldenburg.

Bild der Hochschule für Künste Bremen, Campus Überseestadt.

Universities in Bremen State

Bremen’s four universities – the University of Bremen, the City University of Applied Sciences, the University of the Arts, and the University of Applied Sciences Bremerhaven – are connected by much more than their geographic location. The coordination of degree programs in the frame of the Bremen Science Plan and diverse cooperation agreements strengthen Bremen as a scientific hub.

The Languages Centre of the Universities in the State of Bremen (SZHB) is a joint institution of the four universities. In the field of musicology, the curriculum of the University of Bremen is closely linked to that of the University of the Arts.

In the field of media studies, the joint “Digital Media” bachelor’s and master’s degree programs combine the focus on Media Informatics (University of Bremen) and Media Design (University of the Arts).

Bild des Campus der Jacobs University Bremen

Jacobs University

In the Social Sciences, the University of Bremen and the private Jacobs University in the North of Bremen cooperate successfully in the joint master’s program “International Relations: Global Governance and Social Theory” and the Bremen International Graduate School of Social Sciences (BIGSSS).

The inter-university cooperation makes it possible to offer an internationally competitive academic program at master’s and PhD level. Students and PhD candidates benefit from the two universities’ different institutional cultures and their wide range of research topics in Political Science, Sociology and Socio-Psychology.

Updated by: SPE