Former Rector is Crowned University Manager of the Year

In cooperation with the CHE Center for University Development, the ‘Financial Times Deutschland’ has voted Prof. Wilfried Müller “University Manager of the Year 2012” in appreciation of his long term as former Rector of the University of Bremen. He is praised for his implementation of several far-reaching reforms and professional positioning in the competition to acquire students, professors, third-party funding and cooperation projects. According to a clearly pleased acting Rector, Prof.Bernd Scholz-Reiter, “This honor for Wilfried Müller is further recognition of everything he achieved for the University of Bremen. It can also be seen as a commendation for the whole University“.

Wilfried Müller was Rector of the University of Bremen for ten years. His period of office ended in 2012. The 67-year-old chemist and social scientist successfully continued the reform path begun by his predecessor, Prof.Jürgen Timm, which this year culminated in the University of Bremen being admitted to the exclusive club of those eleven universities in Germany permitted to bear the title “University of Excellence”. “Müller could neither build on traditional reputation nor on generous state funding—but despite this he was able to advance his university into the top league of research universities“, applauded the Managing Director of CHE and member of the jury, Prof.Frank Ziegele,  “…and he did this with tenacity, in a participatory manner, and by applying professional management methods. He managed the university with a high level of communicative competency and had a knack for bringing all status groups of the University on board”. The laudatory address was held by Prof.Margret Wintermantel, former President of the Hochschulrektorenkonferenz (HRK) [Conference of German Rectors] and acting President of the Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes (DAAD) [German Academic Exchange Service].

In the finale, Müller triumphed over five other university managers. Also nominated for the award were Prof.Dr.Hans-Wolfgang Arndt (former Rector of the University of Mannheim), Prof.Dr.Karl-Dieter Grüske (President of the University Erlangen-Nürnberg), Prof. Dr. Lambert Koch (Rector of the University of Wuppertal), Prof.Dr.Ute von Lojewski (President of the Münster University of Applied Sciences) and Prof.Dr.Peter Nieß (former president of the Reutlingen University of Applied Sciences).

The jury comprised last year’s winner, Prof.Dr.Gunter Schweiger, former President of the Ingolstadt University of Applied Sciences, Prof.Dr.Ada Pellert, President of the Berlin University for Professional Studies, Prof.Dr.Marion Schick, management board member of Deutsche Telekom responsible for human resources, Marion Schmidt, the education editor of G+J Wirtschaftsmedien, Prof.Dr.Lauritz Holm-Nielsen, Rector of the University of Aarhus, and Prof.Dr.Frank Ziegele, Managing Director of CHE and Professor for University and Science Management at the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences.

For more information, please contact:
Marion Schmidt
Editorial office G+J Wirtschaftsmedien
Phone: +49 40 3703-8285
e-mail: schmidt.marionprotect me ?!gujprotect me ?!.de