Skip to main content

Homepage

News

Courage to Take Risks: Millions Granted Once More for Researcher

This funding enables an immense amount of freedom so that innovative, scientific work can be carried out: The German Research Foundation (DFG) has granted Professor Rolf Drechsler a Reinhart Koselleck Project once more. The funding amount, which is spread over five years, exceeds 1.5 million euros.

A further special aspect: The computer scientist from the University of Bremen and director of the Cyber-Physical Systems group at the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI) is receiving this funding for the second time. This is the first time that this has ever occurred in the DFG ’s funding history.

“I extend my congratulations to Professor Drechsler for this success,” says the president of the University of Bremen, Professor Bernd Scholz-Reiter. “That he is now receiving this funding for the second time shows how much trust the DFG places in his expertise and experience as a scientist.” Rolf Drechsler has been carrying out research into secure hardware and software systems for many years. The 50-year-old is one of the worldwide leading scientists in the field of synthesis, verification and testing of digital circuits.

“Swiss Army Knife” for Examination Processes

What is the project about? “The digital revolution has dramatically changed out lives. “After computers, the internet, and modern mobile devices it is now digitalization that is moving into many tradition industries,” says Drechsler. The foundation of this revolution is formed by so-called digital logic circuits. These are small construction elements that make electronic data processing possible in the first place. In order for said elements to be able to fulfil their tasks, the circuits of digital devices have to work perfectly.

However, experience has shown that this is not the case. Individually assessing the single systems consumes a great deal of time. Therefore, in his project the computer scientist wants to test special processes that can assess as many systems as possible under all conditions. These processes are called formal verification techniques and should run in the background so that users do not have deal with them. “They should basically become a type of ‘swiss army knife’ for the verification of digital circuits in practice,” explains Drechsler. The project is titled PolyVer: Polynomiale Verifikation elektronischer Schaltungen – which in English is PolyVer: Polynomial Verification of Electronic Circuits.

“I am very happy that with the second Koselleck Project I have the freedom to try things in order to further the technical development of the digital world in the long-term,” says the scientists. Moreover, early-career scientists profit from it, as the computer scientist will also finance qualification positions with the funding.

About Reinhart Koselleck Projects

Reinhart Koselleck Projects stand for more freedom in order to promote innovative projects that carry a certain positive risk. The researchers should therefore have the courage to take risks. The DFG only grants projects to researchers who can prove their special achievements in their scientific field. The program is named after Reinhart Koselleck, who passed away in 2006 and was one of the most significant German historians of the 20th century. He is seen as one of the founders of contemporary social history in Germany and was regarded as a lateral thinker.

 

Further Information:

https://www.dfg.de/en/research_funding/programmes/individual/reinhart_koselleck_projects/index.html
www.rolfdrechsler.de  
http://www.informatik.uni-bremen.de/agra/eng/team.php
https://www.dfki.de/en/web/research/research-departments/cyber-physical-systems/

Contact:

Prof. Dr. Rolf Drechsler
Computer Architecture Group
Faculty of Mathematics / Computer Science
University of Bremen
Phone: +49 421 218-63932
Email: drechslerprotect me ?!uni-bremenprotect me ?!.de

Man with curly hair is smiling in camera
Rolf Drechsler has been carrying out research into secure hardware and software systems for many years. He is one of the worldwide leading scientists in the field of synthesis, verification and testing of digital circuits.

Events

alle Veranstaltungen

All about studying

Program Offerings

More than 100 bachelor's and master's degree programs, a state law exam, international and continuing education courses – so if you decide to study at the University of Bremen, you’ll have a wide range of options to choose from. If you already have a good idea about what you want to study, you will find information on all the study programs offered by the University of Bremen here, sorted alphabetically and searchable by various criteria.

If you are still undecided in your choice of subject, get help from the Central Student Advisory Service. They will help you turn your still vague ideas into a clear study profile. For a first orientation, however, we have divided the study programs available into eight study and occupational fields to help you narrow down the field.

 

more

Teaching profile

Research-based learning offers all students the opportunity to actively shape the learning experience. The University of Bremen offers a wide range of subjects encompassing many different knowledge cultures. From this diversity emerges a study culture of mutual esteem which enables vibrant and successful studies.

Courses

The online Course Catalog lists courses and lectures sorted by subject areas (Faculties) and degree programs, as well as cross-departmental offers. Within the frame of UniStart, freshers can attend university courses in preparation for their studies; to orient themselves on campus or to make contact with fellow students.

Advice and Orientation

The first point of contact for information about studying is the Central Student Advisory Service. Subject-specific questions can be clarified in the study centers or with the program advisers. Taster offers (look-ins) and the Information Day for Prospective Students (website in German only) provide opportunities to get to know the University of Bremen a little better.

Studium international

Our campus breathes life into diversity.  2,200 people from all five continents study here. More than 600 international cooperation partners form our worldwide network. Many Faculties offer international degree courses. Prospective international students can look forward to a diverse range of academic and cultural offers.

All about research

  • aaq Akkreditierung
  • Gütesiegel des Deutschen Hochschulverbands
  • EMAS Zertifizierung für geprüftes Umweltmanagement
  • Zertifikat audit familiengerechte hochschule
  • Audit „Internationalisierung der Hochschulen“ der HRK
  • Logo Audit "Vielfalt gestalten" des Stifterverbandes
  • CHE Ranking

Zum Hauptinhalt springen

Startseite

Aktuelles

Mut zum Risiko: Erneut Millionenförderung für Forscher

Diese Förderung ermöglicht extrem viel Freiraum, um innovativ wissenschaftlich arbeiten zu können: Die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) hat Professor Rolf Drechsler erneut ein Reinhart Koselleck-Projekt genehmigt. Die Fördersumme umfasst über fünf Jahre mehr als 1,5 Millionen Euro.

Eine weitere Besonderheit: Der Informatiker der Universität Bremen und Leiter des Forschungsbereichs Cyber-Physical Systems des Deutschen Forschungszentrums für künstliche Intelligenz (DFKI) erhält diese Förderung bereits zum zweiten Mal. Das gab es in der Fördergeschichte der DFG bislang noch nie.

 „Ich gratuliere Professor Drechsler ganz herzlich zu diesem Erfolg“, sagt der Rektor der Universität Bremen, Professor Bernd Scholz-Reiter. „Dass er diese Förderung bereits zum zweiten Mal erhält zeigt, welches Vertrauen die DFG in die Expertise und Erfahrungen des Wissenschaftlers hat.“ Rolf Drechsler erforscht seit vielen Jahren sichere Hard- und Softwaresysteme. Der 50-Jährige ist einer der weltweit führenden Wissenschaftler auf dem Gebiet der Synthese, Verifikation und Tests digitaler Schaltungen.  

„Schweizer Taschenmesser“ für Prüfungsverfahren

Worum geht es in dem Projekt? „Die digitale Revolution hat unser Leben dramatisch verändert. Nach Computern, Internet und modernen mobilen Geräten hält die Digitalisierung in viele traditionelle Industrien Einzug“, sagt Drechsler. Die Grundlage dieser Revolution seien sogenannte digitale Logikschaltungen. Dabei handelt es sich um kleine Bauelemente, die die elektronische Datenverarbeitung überhaupt erst ermöglichen. Damit diese ihre Aufgabe erfüllen können, müssen die Schaltkreise von digitalen Geräten fehlerfrei arbeiten.

Doch das ist in der Praxis erfahrungsgemäß nicht der Fall. Die einzelnen Systeme einzeln zu prüfen kostet viel Zeit. Der Informatiker will in seinem Projekt deshalb spezielle Verfahren ausprobieren, die möglichst viele Systeme unter allen Bedingungen testen. Diese Verfahren nennen sich „formale Verifikationstechniken“ und sollen im Hintergrund laufen, so dass die Nutzerinnen und Nutzer sich damit nicht beschäftigen müssen. „Sie sollen quasi zum `Schweizer Taschenmesser` für die Verifikation von digitalen Schaltungen aus der Praxis werden“, erläutert Drechsler. Der Titel des Projekts lautet: „PolyVer: Polynomiale Verifikation elektronischer Schaltungen".

„Ich freue mich sehr, dass ich durch das zweite Koselleck-Projekt die Freiheit bekomme, Dinge auszuprobieren, um die technische Entwicklung in der digitalen Welt langfristig voranzubringen“, sagt der Wissenschaftler. Darüber hinaus profitiert der wissenschaftliche Nachwuchs davon. Denn mit den Fördergeldern finanziert der Informatiker auch Qualifizierungsstellen.

Über Reinhart Koselleck-Projekte

Reinhart Koselleck-Projekte stehen für mehr Freiraum, um besonders innovative und im positiven Sinne risikobehaftete Forschung zu fördern. Die Forschenden sollen also Mut zum Risiko haben. Die DFG ermöglicht sie ausschließlich Forschenden, die in ihren Wissenschaftsgebieten besondere Leistungen nachweisen können. Namensgeber des Programms ist der im Jahr 2006 verstorbene Reinhart Koselleck, einer der bedeutendsten deutschen Historiker des 20. Jahrhunderts. In Deutschland gehörte er zu den Begründern der modernen Sozialgeschichte. Koselleck galt als Querdenker.

Weitere Informationen:

www.dfg.de/foerderung/programme/einzelfoerderung/reinhart_koselleck_projekte/index.html
www.rolfdrechsler.de  
www.informatik.uni-bremen.de/agra/ger/gruppe.php
www.dfki.de/web/forschung/forschungsbereiche/cyber-physical-systems/

 

Fragen beantwortet:

Prof. Dr. Rolf Drechsler
Arbeitsgruppe Rechnerarchitektur
Fachbereich Mathematik / Informatik
Universität Bremen
Telefon: +49 421 218-63932
E-Mail: drechslerprotect me ?!uni-bremenprotect me ?!.de   

 

 

Mann mit Locken lächelt in die Kamera
Rolf Drechsler erforscht seit vielen Jahren sichere Hard- und Softwaresysteme. Er ist einer der weltweit führenden Wissenschaftler auf dem Gebiet der Synthese, Verifikation und Tests digitaler Schaltungen.

Veranstaltungen

alle Veranstaltungen

Rund ums Studium

Studienangebot

Über 100 Bachelor- und Masterstudiengänge, juristisches Staatsexamen, internationale und weiterbildende Studienangebote – wer an der Universität Bremen studieren möchte, hat vielfältige Auswahlmöglichkeiten. Wenn Sie schon ziemlich genau wissen, was Sie studieren wollen, finden Sie hier alle Informationen zum Studienangebot der Universität Bremen, alphabetisch sortiert und nach vielen Kriterien filterbar.

Wenn Sie noch unschlüssig in der Wahl ihres Faches sind, holen Sie sich Unterstützung bei der Zentralen Studienberatung, um unklare Vorstellungen in ein deutliches Studienprofil umzuwandeln. Für eine erste inhaltliche Orientierung haben wir das Studienangebot für Sie in acht Studien- und Berufsfelder aufgeteilt. Das hilft Ihnen, eine erste Auswahl zu treffen.

 

Lehrprofil

Forschendes Lernen bietet allen Studierenden die Möglichkeit, die Lehre aktiv mitzugestalten. Die Universität Bremen bietet ein breites Fächerspektrum mit unterschiedlichen Wissenskulturen. Aus dieser Vielfalt erwächst eine Studienkultur gegenseitiger Wertschätzung, die ein lebendiges und erfolgreiches Studium ermöglicht.

Lehrveranstaltungen

Im Lehrveranstaltungsverzeichnis online sind Lehrveranstaltungen nach Fachbereichen und Studiengängen sortiert zu finden, ebenso überfachliche Angebote. Studienanfänger können im Rahmen von „UniStart“ Veranstaltungen besuchen, um sich inhaltlich auf das Studium vorzubereiten, sich auf dem Campus zu orientieren oder Kommilitonen kennenzulernen.

Studienberatung

Erste Anlaufstelle für Informationen rund ums Studium ist die Zentrale Studienberatung. Fachspezifische Fragen können in den Studienzentren oder in der Studienfachberatung geklärt werden. Schnupperangebote und den Informationstag für Studieninteressierte geben Ihnen die Möglichkeit, die Universität Bremen genauer kennenlernen.

Studium international

Auf unserem Campus leben wir Vielfalt. 2.200 Menschen von allen fünf Kontinenten studieren hier. Mehr als 600 internationale Kooperationspartner bilden unser weltweites Netzwerk. Viele Fachbereiche bieten internationale Studiengänge an. Internationale Studierende dürfen sich auf ein vielfältiges fachliches und kulturelles Angebot bei uns freuen.

Rund um die Forschung

  • aaq Akkreditierung
  • Gütesiegel des Deutschen Hochschulverbands
  • EMAS Zertifizierung für geprüftes Umweltmanagement
  • Zertifikat audit familiengerechte hochschule
  • Logo Audit „Internationalisierung der Hochschulen“ der HRK
  • Logo Audit "Vielfalt gestalten" des Stifterverbandes
  • CHE Ranking